recurring sandwich dream

dino imbroglio
assorted writings
Published in
2 min readOct 27, 2014

its a doosie . . I mean the sandwich, it haunts me . . the dream is subtle right until the first bite which kicks it into overdrive wooblywoo, in fact and whoa . . where to even begin ? it is different every time, all but the sandwich, which persists indelibly oouu ! no, all get to that . . I suppose then, best begin with the sandwich itself

very simple it consists of:

i. the brisket is impossibly lean and pulls apart like smoked pork but it tastes like it tastes like an afternoon in nineteen hundred ninety eight when I had brisket so good I nearly melted myself . .

ii. the bread rye, with a thickness such that it absorbs the juices from the meat ( the impossible meat ) and yet retains its heartiness and furthermore is not toasted but warmed . .

there is no dressing there are no sides the sandwich is always enough and afterwards things get kinda weird . . . the dream can be a bit too much after that a lot of quick cuts to I couldnt even say what just makes me dizzy and then am awake again . . always it begins as an innocuous night out, or a day at the office or a sunday at large just something I dont question at all its dead dino dreaming hes alive and well but really hes passed out and doing nothing at all . . and all be walking around just digging the scope of things and then am in a sandwich shop the outside of which I cannot recall . . always this dirty joint with the busted refrigerator behind the counter the place has black tiles on the wall and from around your waist to the floor are mirrors which reflect ad infinitum the round bases and stems of the stools and tables . . there is nobody there, nobody to tend the register and nobody inside the place just the makings all behind the counter and a freshly made sandwich there on the counter just for me . . . and then I remember for a second, and then its gone again and I am overcome with the desire to eat this sandwich and it is so good I mean hot damn ! and then it goes bizarro not bad ! really not bad just a shade or two away . . . and then am awake again . .

Originally published at oldnewsnewbrewsnewsbruise.tumblr.com.

--

--

dino imbroglio
assorted writings
0 Followers
Editor for

is not very old and not very young, is a better writer than you