Asterisk Week 61: Sobre ser mal interpretado

Viviane Souza
Asterisk Project
Published in
4 min readApr 4, 2019

Don’t get me wrong

Imagem por: Viviane Souza

Asterisk Project: Grupo de Escrita Criativa

A última semana de março foi iniciada com um prompt escolhido pelo Guilherme, “Don’t Get Me Wrong”.

Acompanhe os textos dessa semana:

Guilherme

Despite the fact that I love you,

still I can live without you,

still I can breathe when you leave,

still I can dance alone,

still I can disengage.

I have my moves to move on.

Don't get me wrong.

We have our roots,

but we're not trees.

We're plants that can be

transferred.

Still we're able to thrive

in separate vases.

We choose not to.

And that's the beauty of our love.

We're given a choice.

We're given freedom.

We just choose to fly hand-in-hand,

as our wings feel the wind.

Ana Luiza

Don’t get me wrong

I know it’s hard for everybody

But I only know myself

You know it’s tough being who you are.

Don’t get me wrong

I judge I create I destroy

I deny

That I know nothing but myself

Don’t get me wrong

There were never good intentions in my actions

“I know myself” – I cried*

I’m never wrong.

Strongly stolen from the last phrase of “This Side of Paradise” by F. Scott Fitzgerald — 'I know myself, he cried, but that is all.

Alan Zahid

Don’t get me wrong, I am easy to get along with. I mean, for the most part I am easy to get along with.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been known to be a grump at times. For the most part I am pretty chill and easy going, but sometimes I have difficulty being patient with people. I’ll rarely yell or insult people, but often will bottle up my feelings and when pushed too far, just explode all at once. This is definitely not a healthy way of handling my problems, and I know it is something I need to improve in myself. In fact, every romantic relationship I’ve ever had has ended because I used my fire tongue to burn them with the flames of a thousand suns after having kept quiet about something for a very long time. I’ve even lost my job because of my temper and my inability to control myself when I get angry.

Don’t get me wrong, you can take many things in life, but you can never take back words already said. People can forgive but they’ll never forget. If people start to fear you, that becomes resentment and anger, which leads to them wanting to cut you out of their lives. I know this the hard way.

Don’t get me wrong, I am very lazy, but I can deeply immerse myself in my work and my interests, often to the detriment of my social life or other responsibilities. At work, I’d often get frustrated with people who didn’t have the same burning passion about something, especially since we worked in community and social development in marginalized communities. Most people treated it like a job – I treated it like a calling and fought tooth and nail for the people I worked with. Looking back at it, I now realize that my single-minded pursuits were an attempt to bring meaning and value into my life. That had the consequence of me expecting 110% of the people around me, which is unrealistic and silly.

Don’t get me wrong, I can be fun and carefree. I like a strong drink and a rock and roll song in the background. I have been known to crack dumb jokes and go off on adventures. But I am also very sensitive, quiet, depressive and shy. I’d like for people to think I am an emotionally distant, cool, calm and collected person, but truth be told, I am actually very empathetic and am a huge softy. I prefer staying in and cuddling while watching a movie over going to a bar.

Don’t get me wrong, I feel oneness with the universe and every living being, but I can still tell someone to go fuck themselves if they’re being assholes. I’ve travelled the world and worked with many people, and got along with them great, but I didn’t always like them or enjoy spending time with them.

Don’t get me wrong, I hate writing about myself, but time and time again, I always find myself writing something that ends up being about myself or my experiences or dreams. I hate talking about myself but that is all I seem to ever talk about these days.

Don’t get me wrong, I just want to be loved like I love. Cared for and care for someone. Listened to. But I always end up pushing people away.

Don’t get me wrong, I am probably more difficult to define than most people are willing to do. People like simple answers to simple questions. A slogan. I write paragraphs.

Don’t get me wrong, I want to be understood. I just have trouble communicating. I am just not expressive or talkative enough.

Don’t get me wrong, you’ll probably get me all wrong.

Essa semana foi bem parada por aqui, mas tivemos ótimas composições.

Toda semana fazemos uma playlist com músicas relacionadas ao tema do prompt. Siga a gente no Spotify, também!

Você pode ouvir a playlist pelo Spotify, SoundsGood ou Youtube clicando no link. Clique na seta pra ver todas as faixas da playlist!

*Para saber mais sobre nosso projeto é só clicar aqui. Lembrando que você também pode participar do nosso projeto, basta mandar um e-mail pra gente aqui.

Notas:

Os textos produzidos foram corrigidos por nós mesmos, então nos perdoe por qualquer erro!

Para reprodução de qualquer conteúdo original, favor entrar em contato no nosso email: asteriskproj@gmail.com

--

--