Astral welcomes our first Software Engineer, Celes!

Cosmo
Astral TableTop
Published in
2 min readJun 29, 2018

The Unicorn Heart Club team is growing and we have hired our first Software Engineer to help take on the growing demands of Astral Tabletop!

We would like to formally introduce you all to Celes, be sure to say hi in Discord! 👋

1. Tell us a little about yourself, Celes

I’m a 30-year-old transgender woman, who loves video games, tabletop games, boards games, fantasy, scifi, anime, and cartoons. I am a bit of a numbers person so I end up on the power gamer side a bit more than I’d like to be innately. But I try not to let that ruin the games for the people I play with. I have a computer science degree and I have interest in AI as well as machine learning. That being said I have done little to no work in either field. I also am a part of an amazingly fun podcast called Blast Burn Radio where we are currently playing through and streaming each generation of Pokémon with a much harder rule-set as well as fighting each others teams each week on the podcast with a points system. All in all I am an extremely nerdy girl who loves math, programming, and computers.

2. At what age did you become interested in tabletop gaming

Around age 10 I managed to get my brother to GM one game for me and a friend.

3. What was first game to get you hooked? What was special about it?

Dungeons and Dragons, I loved the fantasy setting, and the character system. To be honest Baldur’s Gate and NeverWinter Nights for the PC really pulled me in during my high school years as it let me play some without needing a group of people. I was never able to find a solid group to play Dungeons and Dragons with growing up. But I really do want to play more.

4. What was your most memorable tabletop experience?

In a Pathfinder game with a few friends one of my friends was playing a character with an extreme fear of bears. I being the chaotic rogue of the group decided it would be funny to attach a Teddy bear to his belt using Sleight of Hand. The following chaos including another member of the party taking significant damage was hilarious.

5. Tell us more about your involvement with Astral

I was introduced to Astral by a good friend of mine and I was told about a Software Engineering position. I am a software engineer with a lot of drive. I am hoping to hone my skills and help improve on the amazing platform that is Astral.

6. What are you most excited about building here?

Honestly the back end, being able to add new functionality and squashing bugs.

7. Is there anything else we missed?

Bug Kicking For Goodness!

Are you a tabletop gamer with a passion for building amazing products? We’re hiring, check out our open positions and get a really cool job building games for living! 🚀

--

--

Cosmo
Astral TableTop

Chief Robot Overlord for Astral TableTop. Chaotic Neutral.