All my poems are about you and for you

Michele Gill
At the Speed of Breath
1 min readJan 14, 2020

I was numb, I was dead, I was free-falling
And I knew you were there but I didn’t feel it
And I believed it would all be ok, but I didn’t know it
And I called my sister, my touchstone, and she said
That shit sucks.
Yeah.
And suddenly I was back in my body and I was driving
Driving to pick up my kid from school.
And it was an ordinary day again
And this thing that happened wasn’t death or destruction
It was just a shitty thing. That’s all
Well, I can cope with shitty things.
My faith is strong enough for that.
My mind is smart enough for that.
My heart is resilient enough for that.
What I haven’t figured out is how to save myself
When all seems lost. Yeah. That.

c. Michele Gill, 5/9/19

Photo by Ashley Bean on Unsplash

--

--

Michele Gill
At the Speed of Breath

Educational psychologist; school reformer. Writer of essays and prose pieces (that secretly want to be poems). https://www.michelegregoiregill.com/