Meet-A-Medic: Bryan Duran, Medic — Field / EMT-P

Jimmy Johnson
ATCEMS Medics
Published in
3 min readJun 7, 2024

My name is Bryan Duran. I’m a certified Paramedic currently working at the rank of Medic-Field for ATCEMS. I am originally from Southern California, where I spent ten years providing emergency medical care in Los Angeles and Orange Counties. My family and I moved to Austin in 2021 and fell in love with Central Texas and this department. My wife and I will celebrate ten years of marriage this fall, and we are the proud (if not exhausted) parents of three beautiful children. In my spare time I can be found outside with my children or in a live music venue.

Where are you from originally and what brought you to Austin?

I came to Austin specifically for ATCEMS. I wanted EMS to be my lifelong career in an environment that celebrated EMS and focused on medicine and patient care.

What inspired you to become a medic/What attracted you to this career choice?

I witnessed a cardiac arrest and performed layman’s CPR and mouth to mouth. The outcome made me feel as though I should have and could have done more with proper education and training.

How long have you been with ATCEMS and what motivated you to work here?

I started at ATCEMS in July of 2021, and I was motivated to apply by the departments recruitment website which outline the exciting operational capabilities of the department as well as the clearly define pathways for career advancement. For the first time I was able to envision a future where I could continue to focus solely on emergency medicine and could promote in rank for a large civil service department.

What is your favorite part about working here at ATCEMS?

My favorite part about working for ATCEMS is the comradery of my coworkers. From PL2 to PL7, everyone here is dedicated to care for patients and caring for each other. I’m extremely proud to call them my colleagues.

If you had guests visiting Austin for the weekend, where is the first place you would take them?

I take all my guest to Congress Ave. We drive from the Capital south towards Cosmic Coffee. This allows my guests to view downtown, the Congress Ave bridge and its view of Lady Bird Lake (and a possible bat sighting), South Congress, The Continental Club, Jo’s Coffee, and the amazing view of the capital from outside of DM3 station.

What is your favorite taco or BBQ joint in town?

Terry Black’s

What do you do on your days off to relax and unwind?

I love fishing and spending time outdoors with my wife and three children. At night I love taking advantage of living in the ‘Live Music Capital of the World’ and taking in numerous performances every month.

Who inspires you?

I am inspired daily by the patience, kindness, and abundant love of my wife Amanda Duran.

What is the next place you would like to visit? Why?

I would love to visit New Orleans for the food and culture and to visit one of our kindred Third Service organizations.

Word of advice for an aspiring medic?

Don’t rush your education and get at least one year of field experience with your BLS certification prior to starting paramedic school.

Interested in a career with ATCEMS? Contact our Recruiting team at EMSRecruiting@austintexas.gov or give us a call at 512–974–1098. You can find dates for the hiring process elements here.

Follow us on all social media channels, and don’t forget to fill out a connect profile.

This publication features ATCEMS work culture and the lives of our medics. *Readings from other publications posted to Medium do not necessarily reflect the views or position of Austin-Travis County EMS, the City of Austin, or Travis County*

--

--

Jimmy Johnson
ATCEMS Medics
0 Followers
Editor for

Marketing Rep B for Austin-Travis County EMS