Meet-A-Medic: Angela Vorhies, Captain — Communications Division

Ashleigh O'Connor
ATCEMS Medics
Published in
3 min readJul 2, 2018
Captain Angela Vorhies in the Communications Division

I’m Angela Vorhies currently serving as a Captain in Communications for ATCEMS. I moved here in ’99 when Austin was still a little city with a small town feel. I learned Spanish in within the first 2 years of being here and been one of the Spanish interpreters in our Communications Division ever since. I have a wife that is in software, a daughter that is a paramedic, and three fur babies. I love to travel, camp, and kayak.

Where are you from originally and what brought you to Austin?
Born in Memphis. Raised in New Orleans.

What inspired you to become a medic/What attracted you to this career choice?
When I was 15, I was in what could have been a really bad car accident. The paramedics that were on scene took great care of me and my friends. After that, whenever I saw an ambulance, I would wonder who they were going to help. I decided that I wanted to help other people, too — just like those medics had done so for me and my friends that day.

How long have you been with ATCEMS and what motivated you to work here?
I have been with ATCEMS for 18.5 years and I have worked in EMS for 26 years. When I initially applied with Austin EMS, I was also applying to San Francisco, CA and Mecklenburg, NC. I came to Austin first and fell in love with the city. I loved the melting pot of people so much that I pulled my applications from the other agencies and the rest is history!

What is your favorite part about working here at ATCEMS?
Getting to watch our system evolve and grow. And being part of a group of people that want to make a difference in this community.

If you had guests visiting Austin for the weekend, where is the first place you would take them?
Every time… I take out-of-towners to Mount Bonnell.

What is your favorite taco joint in town?
El Taquito — it started out as a food truck on East Riverside… the green salsa is the bomb!

What do you do on your days to relax and unwind?
The wife and I love the lake. That’s where you’ll find us on most weekends.

Who inspires you?
Not who… more like “what”. Little acts of kindness go a long way in my book.

What is the next place you would like to visit? Why?
Going to the Bahamas next year! And, I would love Costa Rica after that… I love the water and the ocean.

Word of advice for an aspiring medic?
Take care of your mind and body; this job can wear both out quickly. Treat other agencies and first responders with respect. And remember that Comm has your back!

Read more about our Communications division here at ATCEMS.

Interested in a career with ATCEMS? Contact our Recruiting team at EMSRecruiting@austintexas.gov or give us a call at 512–974–1098. You can find dates for the hiring process elements here.

Follow us on all social media channels, and don’t forget to fill out a connect profile.

This publication features ATCEMS work culture and the lives of our medics. *Readings from other publications posted to Medium do not necessarily reflect the views or position of Austin-Travis County EMS, the City of Austin, or Travis County*

--

--