Meet-A-Medic: Caiti Thornhill, Captain

Ashleigh O'Connor
ATCEMS Medics
Published in
3 min readJul 16, 2018

I’m Caiti Thornhill, Communications Captain for ATCEMS. When I’m not promoting animal rescue and welfare, you can usually find me at home with my own rescues including a 3-legged pirate dog, my husband and our 2 girls. I prefer mountains and a cabin in the woods over longs walks on the beach and I have no idea what my horoscope is.

Where are you from originally and what brought you to Austin?
I am originally from Fairbanks, Alaska. I came to the Austin area for an internship and met my future husband. Apparently motorcycles and snow don’t mix so I made the move here. Fun story, the day I moved it was -48* in Alaska and 8 hours later I landed in Houston for a balmy 52*!

What inspired you to become a medic/What attracted you to this career choice?
I have always been a helper, a doer, a giver. I credit Robin Williams and the movie Patch Adams for my draw to helping people within the medical field (as a kid I wanted to be a veterinarian). Growing up I was surrounded by nurses. My initial plan was to pursue a career within the ER. Then, I discovered EMS had a shorter and cheaper schooling option, with a quicker entry point into the industry.

How long have you been with ATCEMS and what motivated you to work here?
I was one of two Comm medics in Class 0311 so I’ve been here just over 7 years. When I started here, the department hadn’t opened up Field Operations to EMT-B’s yet, so I decided to still pursue an EMS career within the Communications Division. In 2015, I became one of the founding members of the ATCEMS Peer Support team because I wanted to be able to do more to help my fellow co-workers.

What is your favorite part about working here at ATCEMS?
I appreciate the variety and opportunities available with ATCEMS. Everything from community outreach to academy training to peer support. There’s something for everybody.

If you had guests visiting Austin for the weekend, where is the first place you would take them?
Food. Tex-Mex or BBQ are must haves. Then an adventure around town usually includes a trip out to Lake Travis, Mount Bonnell, Downtown Austin, and the Bat Bridge (Round Rock is a better bat bridge, but Congress has the city ambience).

What is your favorite taco joint in town?
Pacos Tacos! Conveniently just a short jaunt down the road for an after work meal.

What do you do on your days to relax and unwind?
Many days you can find me just up the road as a volunteer Dog Wrangler Extraordinaire for the Williamson County Regional Animal Shelter. I also dabble in quilting, crafting, DIY projects that involve power tools, and throwing weights in the gym. I often say I’m a Jane of all trades, master of none.

Who inspires you?
My family. They inspire me to be better, do better, and always strive for more.

What is the next place you would like to visit? Why?
The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and Arlington National Cemetery, really that whole area. I’d love to see all of the history and culture that’s represented.

Word of advice for an aspiring medic?
Don’t forget about self-care. For a career that’s all about helping, we aren’t always mindful about taking care of ourselves. Be intentional about finding something you love outside of work. Also, never stop learning.

Read more about our Communications division here at ATCEMS.

Interested in a career with ATCEMS? Contact our Recruiting team at EMSRecruiting@austintexas.gov or give us a call at 512–974–1098. You can find dates for the hiring process elements here.

Follow us on all social media channels, and don’t forget to fill out a connect profile.

This publication features ATCEMS work culture and the lives of our medics. *Readings from other publications posted to Medium do not necessarily reflect the views or position of Austin-Travis County EMS, the City of Austin, or Travis County*

--

--