Meet-A-Medic: Jason Gilliam, Captain — Designated Medical Officer

Ashleigh O'Connor
ATCEMS Medics
Published in
4 min readMay 24, 2018
Captain Jason Gilliam — Designated Medical Officer

“Don’t worry about being impressive — just be empathetic and honest.”

I’m Jason Gilliam, I am the B shift Medical Officer for ATCEMS. I have a wonderful wife and two boys that mean everything to me. I spend the bulk of my down time either camping in state parks or heading to the beach. I love to travel but don’t get to as much as I would like so. If you see me around share your travel stories with me so that I can live vicariously!

Where are you from originally and what brought you to Austin?

I grew up in Dallas and moved to the Northeast for a while. I was happy to come back to Texas to start my career as a Medic. I moved to Austin in 1998 after accepting a position with Austin EMS.

What inspired you to become a medic/What attracted you to this career choice?

I spent my high school years volunteering in the Parkland ER and always wanted to practice medicine. I graduated from High School with plans of going to college and then on to Medical School. I got my undergraduate degree from Boston University where I studied Molecular Biology and Biochemistry. During my studies I was diagnosed with cancer. This was a life changing event for me and impacted my ability to continue in school. I found EMS through a medic that was studying Chemistry with me and I fell in love with it. It has been incredibly rewarding and I did not have to take years in school before being able to practice medicine.

How long have you been with ATCEMS and what motivated you to work here?

I have worked at ATCEMS for 20 years. I used to vacation in Austin when I was a kid and have always loved the place. Austin EMS is one of the greatest systems in the country and I wanted to be a part of it.

What is your favorite part about working here at ATCEMS?

I am always humbled to be able to work with some of the best medics in the world. I am also honored to try and inspire and coach them to be even better. I go home every day knowing I tried my best. What could be better?!

If you had guests visiting Austin for the weekend, where is the first place you would take them?

I would take a walk from Zilker to the pedestrian bridge on the green belt and cross over to Seaholm. I think that Austin is one of the most beautiful cities in the world when viewed from the green belt. I would then take them to the Oasis to watch the sunset.

What is your favorite taco joint in town?

Tyson’s Tacos on Airport… AWESOME tacos, open 24 hours and my younger son can run across the street and get a donut from Mrs. Johnson’s Bakery.

What do you do on your days to relax and unwind?

We have a lot of family activities that we go do together. I go to a local boot camp with my wife, and for date-nights and we go for walks at Mueller.

Who inspires you?

I am inspired by so many. Recently, my youngest son has inspired me the most. He had some serious health problems and before making a full recovery, he suffered 2 cardiac arrests and came home with a ventilator, Tracheostomy, and G-tube. He is full of spirit (sometimes too much!) and an amazing kid (both of my kids are). He is a constant reminder of what could be and sometimes a reminder of what might not have been.

He reminds me that everything we do and everything we say can have a huge impact (sometimes unintentionally) on the patients and the families that we see. Even though he has made a full recovery, I still talk daily with one of his nurses that provided care for him, and I visit another one frequently. They remind me to be mindful when I interact with patients to ensure the patient and the family is heard and included. They also remind me to be careful, loving, and responsible with the trust that our patients and families place in me. It may sound cheesy and sappy and personal…but, we are caring for loved ones. What could be more personal than that?

What is the next place you would like to visit? Why?

My older son is starting his fourth form of Latin and I want to take him to Rome. I would like to walk through the forum with him and have him explain it all to me.

Word of advice for an aspiring medic?

Appreciate the responsibility that the community places in you. Take the job seriously. Don’t worry about being impressive — just be empathetic and honest. Be willing to not know something and then be willing to find the answer. You are underappreciated by everyone until you are not… and you may never know how much you are appreciated by those who really understand the impact that you have. You will take patients situations home with you, some of them forever. Take time for yourself to deal with the difficult stuff. Be proud that you are in a most honorable profession. And, don’t forget — you are never alone.

Interested in a career with ATCEMS? Contact our Recruiting team at EMSRecruiting@austintexas.gov or give us a call at 512–974–1098. You can find dates for the hiring process elements here.

Follow us on all social media channels, and don’t forget to fill out a connect profile.

This publication features ATCEMS work culture and the lives of our medics. *Readings from other publications posted to Medium do not necessarily reflect the views or position of Austin-Travis County EMS, the City of Austin, or Travis County*

--

--