Meet-A-Medic: JC Ferguson, Captain

Ashleigh O'Connor
ATCEMS Medics
Published in
3 min readJul 20, 2018

I’m JC Ferguson, currently serving as a Captain in Communications. My current assignment is at the ATCEMS Training Academy administering all of the initial and continuing education for Communication Cadets and Medics. I come from a varied background that includes Fire Service, Law Enforcement, and EMS as well as pavement and Geo-Technical engineering. I’ve been an EMT for 15 years and with the City of Austin for 7. I have 2 highly active girls, one 5 year old and a 1 year old. My wife and I stay constantly engaged with family and close friends, but you can find us killing some pizza out at Pieous or holding down the patio at the Jack Allen’s Kitchen.

Where are you from originally and what brought you to Austin?
I’m a native Texan, born in Tyler. We pretty much grew up in Pflugerville just north of Austin. After high school I lived in San Antonio, Billings (Montana), and Chapel Hill, NC. After graduating North Carolina State Univ (Go Pack!), my wife and I moved back to Austin to begin our careers.

What inspired you to become a medic/What attracted you to this career choice?
I always knew I belonged in public safety. It wasn’t just a drive to help people; many careers do that. “Emergent servitude” is the term I would use to describe what drove me to EMS over other options. We get to solve problems, and when needed, do so expediently within a clinical mindset, all while interacting closely with our public.

How long have you been with ATCEMS and what motivated you to work here?
I’ve been with ATCEMS for 7 years. When searching for my EMS job, I slung applications and resumes as many places as I could. Luckily, ATCEMS was the first process I was offered a chance to participate in. ATCEMS’ reputation as a high volume system that demands clinical thinkers would have drawn me in no matter where I started, so I consider myself very lucky that I was able to get in when I did.

What is your favorite part about working here at ATCEMS?
The people. There are some very brilliant and very passionate medics that work here. It’s energizing to work alongside people who care so much about what they do, and care so much about ensuring our public gets the best response, treatments, and experience possible.

If you had guests visiting Austin for the weekend, where is the first place you would take them?
Seasonally dependent. But currently we would go down to Barton Springs Rd, get some Tex-Mex at Chuys, go run around in Zilker Park, then cool off in Barton Springs.

What is your favorite taco joint in town?
Torchy’s. And you spelled “queso” wrong.

What do you do on your days to relax and unwind?
Ultimate Frisbee. No, it’s not disc golf. Zilker Park, 1200/noon on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Be there, run hard, get sweaty.

Who inspires you?
People who give, help, and/or lead without expecting anything in return. There are many people that fit this profile, but none of them are in it for themselves. Those people are inspiring examples of what I want to be.

What is the next place you would like to visit? Why?
Thailand. Because food.

Word of advice for an aspiring medic?
Work hard, expect failure and discomfort. BUT, always keep your head up, look the part, and never forget you are a servant. Serve your patients, your equipment, your partners, and the public in everything you do and good things will happen.

Read more about our Communications division here at ATCEMS.

Interested in a career with ATCEMS? Contact our Recruiting team at EMSRecruiting@austintexas.gov or give us a call at 512–974–1098. You can find dates for the hiring process elements here.

Follow us on all social media channels, and don’t forget to fill out a connect profile.

This publication features ATCEMS work culture and the lives of our medics. *Readings from other publications posted to Medium do not necessarily reflect the views or position of Austin-Travis County EMS, the City of Austin, or Travis County*

--

--