Meet-A-Medic: Randy Chhabra, Captain

Ashleigh O'Connor
ATCEMS Medics
Published in
5 min readJun 1, 2018
Captain Randy Chhabra leads efforts for Injury Prevention at ATCEMS

“Working for an organization that empowers their staff to be great and provides the autonomy that allows you to follow your passion is something I’m thankful for every day.”

I’m Randy Chhabra and I currently work as the Captain and lead for our ATCEMS Injury Prevention programing. I’ve been a paramedic with ATCEMS for 16 years and previously worked in the State of Iowa as Paramedic for 3 years before moving to Austin, TX. I have a Bachelor’s of Science degree in Genetics from Iowa State University (go Cyclones!). I am a Father of 4 children which includes twin 4-year old boys that keep me busy.

Where are you from originally and what brought you to Austin?

I was born in Montreal, Canada and moved to Plano, TX when I was 15 years old with the whole family. After graduating from Plano Senior High School, I went to the Midwest for University. The goal was Medical School but I accidently stepped into pre-hospital arena and haven’t been able to give it up. After working as a Paramedic in small town Iowa, I wanted to see how it would be working in a more urban environment. It was ATCEMS that brought me to Austin, TX.

What inspired you to become a medic/What attracted you to this career choice?

I had never aspired to be a Paramedic and actually did not know anything about pre-hospital emergency medicine. While working on my resume, I thought having some experience as an EMT would help with my chances to be accepted into medical school. After obtaining my EMT-B, I realized the potential and excitement and immediately enrolled into a Paramedic program at the Mercy College of Health Science in Des Moines, IA. I still anticipated working as a Paramedic as a short term endeavor but my clinical rotations changed my mind on becoming a Physician. When I began working for ATCEMS is when I realized the possible impact we as pre-hospital providers have on our community. That is when I committed to a career as a Paramedic.

How long have you been with ATCEMS and what motivated you to work here?

As of July 29th, 2018, I will have been with ATCEMS for 16 years. I initially applied because I wanted to work in a big city as a paramedic and ATCEMS was hiring. But I stayed here for all the opportunities and great people.

What is your favorite part about working here at ATCEMS?

My favorite part of my job is the opportunity to serve. I feel extremely fortunate to be in a position where I can work alongside with other talented people and at the same time be a community servant without constraints. Working for an organization that empowers their staff to be great and provides the autonomy that allows you to follow your passion is something I’m thankful for every day.

If you had guests visiting Austin for the weekend, where is the first place you would take them?

Now that I’m an old man and after years of having to work in downtown Austin, I would take my guests to the Domain (I also live in North Austin) to avoid the traffic. The Austin area has so many great eateries, drinkeries and playeries! From axe-throwing, movies at iPic (or Movie House Eatery) or BBQ in Lockhart, Taylor, Luling…..there are so many different options. But regardless of what we do, I always make sure it involves great food.

What is your favorite taco joint in town?

Favorite? Whatever joint sells tacos is my favorite. I’m currently working at EMS Headquarters, so Veracruz is right around the corner. But I definitely enjoy Torchy’s or Tacodeli, as well.

What do you do on your days to relax and unwind?

Between work and kids, it can be difficult to have down time. But I do enjoy watching my kids play and have fun; whether that is in our cul-de-sac or at the community pool. If I can get away, I do like to play golf or just have a drink with friends. Movies are also a nice escape.

Who inspires you?

I’m not sure I have a single person that inspires me. But I do draw inspiration from anyone who can remain positive and kind during times of struggle. My Father and Mother are probably a great example. Regardless of the situation, they are always able to find a silver lining and focus on the great things we have in our lives. I think the best leaders are able to see adversity as opportunity and use that energy to create greatness.

What is the next place you would like to visit? Why?

The next place I’d like to visit is Montreal, Canada. I haven’t been back home in over 8 years and there is something about where I grew up that helps me recharge. I still have a lot of family in Canada and love the opportunity to spend time with family, relaxing and eating poutine! (if you don’t know what that is, then shame on you! Google it and book your airfare to Montreal to try it for yourself.)

Word of advice for an aspiring medic?

The best advice I can give anyone is that your day, week and/or life is going to be what you make of it. We are all blessed to be able to wear this uniform with the ATCEMS patch on the shoulder and that shouldn’t be taken lightly. So smile, have fun and be kind to your patients, partners and your community. They are lucky to have you, just as we are lucky to be able to serve them.

Captain Chhabra helps a young family with car seat safety and installation at one of many free ATCEMS Injury Prevention events.

Interested in a career with ATCEMS? Contact our Recruiting team at EMSRecruiting@austintexas.gov or give us a call at 512–974–1098. You can find dates for the hiring process elements here.

Follow us on all social media channels, and don’t forget to fill out a connect profile.

This publication features ATCEMS work culture and the lives of our medics. *Readings from other publications posted to Medium do not necessarily reflect the views or position of Austin-Travis County EMS, the City of Austin, or Travis County*

--

--