Meet-A-Medic: Steve Bush, Captain — Special Operations

Ashleigh O'Connor
ATCEMS Medics
Published in
4 min readSep 10, 2018

My name is Steven Bush and I am a Special Operations Captain with Austin-Travis County EMS. My family and I moved to Austin in June of 2003. I came here with a background serving as a ground EMT in Glendale and as a paramedic with Ventura Co. AMR. I was also a flight medic, both with the Ventura Co. Sheriff’s Department and Mercy Air, out of Ventura, CA. Additionally, I was a Firefighter/Medic in LA and an EMS Instructor at a community college, prior to our move. I was attracted to Austin EMS for its reputation of having some of the most clinically sound providers in the nation, the clinician approach, rather than the “mother may I” approach in LA. I also wanted to raise my kids in a place other than California, which even back then was overcrowded and very expensive to live. I’m the father of 3 great kids and married to my awesome wife. When I’m not on duty, I run a helicopter service and aviation company.

Where are you from originally and what brought you to Austin?
I’m from Los Angeles. I moved to Austin to work for one of the best EMS services around and to raise my kids here in Texas.

What inspired you to become a medic/ what attracted you to this career choice?
My grandfather was a Battalion Chief for LA City Fire Dept, so naturally I followed that path with the intention of being an aerial firefighter. While training for my EMT, I discovered that I really enjoyed the medicine side of the service. As a Fire Explorer, I recalled running on medical calls with the paramedics and thought, “Wow, I want to do what they do!”. Bad and unfortunate things happen to people every day, and I wanted to be able to help bring some calm to that storm, and know that I was able to make a difference in this life. And of course, I have to thank Jonny Gage and Roy Desoto. If you don’t know who these guys are, then look them up.

How long have you been with ATCEMS and what motivated you to work here?
I’ve been with ATCEMS now for 15 years. I came here to be part of an innovative organization that put patients, and the art of EMS, as a primary focus.

What is your favorite part about working here at ATCEMS?
My EMS family. I’m humbled and honored to work with some truly talented individuals.

If you had guests visiting Austin for the weekend, where is the first place you would take them?
The Salt Lick or County Line BBQ for food, or an aerial tour of the hill country.

What is your favorite taco joint in town?
TacoDeli is pretty good. As a side note though, the “Pete’s Taco” at Maudie’s is outstanding.

What do you do on your days to relax and unwind?
I operate Lone Star Helicopters and get to fly quite a bit. First and foremost though, I enjoy spending time with my wife and kids whether we are just hanging out at home, traveling, flying, or out for a run. It doesn’t really matter, as long as we’re together.

Who inspires you?
What inspires me is not the act of any one person, but the act of what we can accomplish as a group or team.

What is the next place you would like to visit? Why?
The region around the United Kingdom. It’s next on my list of beautiful places to visit. I have really enjoyed the opportunity to travel over the last 6 years or so and learn about new cultures and places. Traveling and meeting new people really helps bring perspective to life.

Word of advice for an aspiring medic?
Try to learn something new every day.

Remember to keep empathy at the top of your practice of medicine. BLS before ALS always.

Always reassure your patients and their families.

Make sure to separate the emotion of work from your home life. We see and have to deal with a lot of terrible things. Don’t keep those emotions bottled up inside. Talk through it with people you trust and that understand.

And that benefit time you earn; USE IT!

Interested in a career with ATCEMS? Contact our Recruiting team at EMSRecruiting@austintexas.gov or give us a call at 512–974–1098. You can find dates for the hiring process elements here.

Follow us on all social media channels, and don’t forget to fill out a connect profile.

This publication features ATCEMS work culture and the lives of our medics. *Readings from other publications posted to Medium do not necessarily reflect the views or position of Austin-Travis County EMS, the City of Austin, or Travis County*

--

--