Meet-A-Medic: Courtney Brown, Medic-Communications

Veronica Callis
ATCEMS Medics
Published in
5 min readMar 1, 2019

--

I’m Courtney Brown, currently serving as a medic in the Combined Transportation and Emergency Communications Center (CTECC). I have been involved with the medical field since my junior year in high school where I completed the certified nursing assistant program that was offered. Since then I have worked as a certified nursing assistant in a nursing home, a nursing tech in a hospital and have also done office work in different specialties including physical therapy and cardiology. My husband and I tend to spend what little time we get (since he’s in public safety, too) together at home with our dogs and working on projects. You can find me either studying for my college classes, binge watching something on Netflix or messing around on the tractor.

Where are you from originally and what brought you to Austin?
I am originally from Steinhatchee, Florida, a small fishing town on the Gulf Coast side where everybody knows your name. After I got married, my husband and I lived in Albuquerque, New Mexico while he was in the Air Force. Once he finished his contract, he decided to be a police officer. Over a few months he researched what city would provide the best opportunities for both of us and that brought us to Austin, Texas.

What inspired you to become a medic/What attracted you to this career choice?
I was used to doing jobs where you can easily get stuck in a rut doing the same thing over and over every day 8–5, Monday through Friday and it was not working for me. I wasn’t happy. I didn’t feel like I was making a difference, and I wanted more. EMS (whether in the Field or Communications) is definitely not a place where you can easily get stuck in a rut. You never know what the next call might be or how you might be able to help save a life and that fascinates me.

How long have you been with ATCEMS and what motivated you to work here?
I have been with ATCEMS for just about 7 months and I love every minute of it. I knew about 2 years ago that I wanted to pursue a career in EMS but I didn’t know exactly where I wanted to end up. After researching, talking to multiple people and finishing my EMT program, I decided to try for ATCEMS as a Communications-Medic since you didn’t need field experience for the position. I had originally wanted to eventually go into the field but now that I am here, I don’t see myself ever leaving the console.

What is your favorite part about working here at ATCEMS?
Everyone, and I mean everyone, wants you to be the best medic you can be. I have never worked for an organization that is more supportive of professional AND personal goals. The support here is unreal and I honestly didn’t know the work place could be like that. Team work is a must-have in this environment because without it, the people we serve don’t get the care they deserve and that could mean the difference between life and death, literally.

If you had guests visiting Austin for the weekend, where is the first place you would take them?
My husband and I don’t really spend much time out on the town so I’m not completely up to date on where the cool hang out places are, but I would probably have to say Moontower. It is full of fun games, food trucks, and sometimes live music.

What is your favorite taco joint in town?|
By far, it would have to be breakfast tacos from Valentina’s food truck. It used to be on 6th street, but I think they might have moved or expanded to more locations.

What do you do on your days to relax and unwind?
I like to be lazy on the couch and cuddle with my dogs. I also enjoy doing projects with my husband which could be anything from woodwork to improving our land or house.

Who inspires you?
It might sound sappy, but my husband inspires me to no end. He is the most hard working and dedicated person I have ever met, and I try to be more like him every day. He never complains and never expects to get something for nothing. He is truly a wonderful man and police officer.

Meet the Browns!

What is the next place you would like to visit? Why?
I would love to go to Alaska. My grandparents visited there, and I made the decision to go when I saw the pictures they took. It looks magical! The glaciers are so massive and the sound they make when they break off is like nothing you’ve ever heard before.

Word of advice for an aspiring medic?
In the words of Shia Labeouf, “JUST DO IT” (look it up). If you have even the slightest desire to be in EMS- go after it! I know I had second thoughts in the beginning since this career path meant even more school, money spent, and training, but I have never been happier. I wish that I would have figured out my calling, pun intended, a long time ago. That is my one and only regret. Come join us and remember, you’ve got this!

Interested in a career with ATCEMS? Contact our Recruiting team at EMSRecruiting@austintexas.gov or give us a call at 512–974–1098. You can find dates for the hiring process elements here.

Follow us on all social media channels, and don’t forget to fill out a connect profile!

This publication features ATCEMS work culture and the lives of our medics. *Readings from other publications posted to Medium do not necessarily reflect the views or position of Austin-Travis County EMS, the City of Austin, or Travis County*

--

--