Meet-A-Medic: Craig Fairbrother, Community Health Paramedic

Ashleigh O'Connor
ATCEMS Medics
Published in
3 min readJun 18, 2018
Craig Fairbrother serves the Austin-Travis community as a paramedic with the Community Health Program

“This life we work in is filled with joys and sorrow. For most of the paramedics I know, we don’t consider this work…we say it is a calling.”

Hello! I’m Craig and I work for Austin Travis County EMS. I have been with the department for 15 years and have enjoyed many of the opportunities we offer. I have worked as a Field Paramedic, Rescue Paramedic in Special Operations, and am currently assigned as a Community Health Paramedic. In my non-EMS time I like to travel and see different things with my wife. I also enjoy eating BBQ…who really doesn’t like BBQ?!? :)

Where are you from originally and what brought you to Austin?
I was born in San Diego California. I served in the U.S. Navy, relocated to Las Vegas where I worked as a Paramedic for 4 years, and then came to Austin to join ATCEMS.

What inspired you to become a medic/What attracted you to this career choice?
Becoming a paramedic was a choice I made in the Navy, because serving my shipmates when they were hurt or injured was very rewarding. When I separated from the military, I knew I wanted to continue helping people. As a civilian, sticking with paramedic as my career of choice seemed a good fit and I’m happy I made that decision!

How long have you been with ATCEMS and what motivated you to work here?
I have worked for ATCEMS for 15 years. I was looking for something different than the Vegas lights to raise my son, and Austin seemed like a great place to raise a family and work. So, I packed up my family and we moved to Austin, and we haven’t looked back once.

What is your favorite part about working here at ATCEMS?
Besides meeting my wife (which is the best part of working for ATCEMS!), I would say it has to be the people. The thing we call EMS is not easy at times and the EMS family always seems to come together and support each other.

If you had guests visiting Austin for the weekend, where is the first place you would take them?
Auditorium Shores — to see the city and Lady Bird Lake…and to get a really good feeling of how cool this city is.

What is your favorite taco joint in town?
HAHA — If it is tacos, than it has to be PACOS!

What do you do on your days to relax and unwind?
Most days you can find me at the airport. I am definitely an aviation nerd. I fly for several non-profit agencies providing assistance to children. The best part is taking someone up who has never flown before and seeing their face light up. Awesomeness in the making! :)

Who inspires you?
I get inspiration every day from the people I encounter, even if it’s for the first time. Watching a person work hard, doing the right thing when it is the hardest thing to do. Good people inspire me.

What is the next place you would like to visit? Why?
Normandy France — to walk where the greatest generation landed at the start of D-Day.

Word of advice for an aspiring medic?
This life we work in is filled with joys and sorrow. For most of the paramedics I know, we don’t consider this work…we say it is a calling.

Work hard in school and do well with your skills. Go on ride-outs and watch how it goes down in the streets. See why we call it the best job in the world. Be ready for a roller coaster ride and enjoy this thing we call EMS!

Interested in a career with ATCEMS? Contact our Recruiting team at EMSRecruiting@austintexas.gov or give us a call at 512–974–1098. You can find dates for the hiring process elements here.

Follow us on all social media channels, and don’t forget to fill out a connect profile.

This publication features ATCEMS work culture and the lives of our medics. *Readings from other publications posted to Medium do not necessarily reflect the views or position of Austin-Travis County EMS, the City of Austin, or Travis County*

--

--