Meet-A-Medic: Esme Harvey, Captain — Communications

Jimmy Johnson
ATCEMS Medics
Published in
3 min readJul 3, 2024

I’m Esme Harvey, currently serving as the training Captain for the Communications Academy. I was born in Southern California and moved to Austin with my family in 2002. A lot has changed since 2002, I remember when we didn’t have tolls! I began working for Austin-Travis County EMS in 2015 and have been serving the Academy since 2021. When I’m not at work you can find me throwing down in the kitchen, chasing around my 2 kids or watching a good movie with my husband!

Where are you from originally and what brought you to Austin?

I was born in Santa Barbara, California and moved to Austin because of Austin Travis County EMS! My dad is a paramedic in the field.

What inspired you to become a medic/What attracted you to this career choice?

When I was old enough, I did a lot of ride outs in the field with my dad. I loved the fast-paced environment of helping people and overcoming challenges. However, when I was offered an opportunity to work in Communications, it opened my eyes to a different side of EMS. It was challenging in a different way, and it allowed me to still make a real impact in patient care! Plus side, it’s always sunny and 72 in CTECC (Combined Transportation, Emergency, and Communications Center)!

How long have you been with ATCEMS and what motivated you to work here?

I’ve been with ATCEMS since 2015. What motivated me to work here is the dynamic and opportunity for professional growth! Get involved and help build!

What is your favorite part about working here at ATCEMS?

I would say my current assignment at the Academy. I love seeing new people come in and helping them grow as individuals and Communications Medics! Their hunger to work hard and be better is infectious!

If you had guests visiting Austin for the weekend, where is the first place you would take them?

That’s a tough one…toss-up between Mt Bonnell, Zilker Park or Town Lake (aka Lady Bird Lake).

What is your favorite taco or BBQ joint in town?

Honestly, my favorite tacos are my own birria tacos! But I do love Al Pastor tacos from Taqueria El Trompo Mayor (7511 Burleson Rd).

What do you do on your days off to relax and unwind?

I love trying new Mexican recipes and spending time with family around the table!

Who inspires you?

My husband and kids.

What is the next place you would like to visit? Why?

Give me a beach with clear water and I’ll be a happy lady!

Word of advice for an aspiring medic?

If I could sum it up to 3 things it would be…Work hard, be kind, stay humble!

Interested in a career with ATCEMS? Contact our Recruiting team at EMSRecruiting@austintexas.gov or give us a call at 512–974–1098. You can find dates for the hiring process elements here.

Follow us on all social media channels, and don’t forget to fill out a connect profile.

This publication features ATCEMS work culture and the lives of our medics. *Readings from other publications posted to Medium do not necessarily reflect the views or position of Austin-Travis County EMS, the City of Austin, or Travis County*

--

--

Jimmy Johnson
ATCEMS Medics
0 Followers
Editor for

Marketing Rep B for Austin-Travis County EMS