Meet-A-Medic: Jason Castleberry, Captain — Community Health Program

Ashley Avants
ATCEMS Medics
Published in
5 min readJan 16, 2020

Howdy! I’m Jason Castleberry. I’ve been with the Community Health Paramedic (CHP) Team officially since 2012. I say officially, because I actually worked with then Captain Hofmeister for my practicum experience in my Masters in Public Health program developing some of the early guidelines for what we would be doing. I first came to CHP as a field medic and was lucky enough to stay in the unit when I promoted to captain in 2016. I’m an Aggie (twice over, I might add) and have never spent more than 3 weeks at a time outside of Texas. My free time is occupied by golf, travel, and learning — lately a lot about woodworking. I still have a hard time believing I’ve been in Austin for over 13 years now, but I plan on being here for many more.

Where are you from originally and what brought you to Austin?
I was born in San Antonio and I moved to Austin to work for Austin-Travis County EMS.

What inspired you to become a medic/What attracted you to this career choice?
I started in EMS with the goal of getting some patient experience to apply for med school. After several not-quite-successful application cycles stretched out over a number of years, I’m still here. I never thought I’d be where I am today when I first started the EMT-Basic class so many years ago.

How long have you been with ATCEMS and what motivated you to work here?
I’ve been with ATCEMS for 13.5 years now. A coworker at my previous job had come to ATCEMS a couple of years before I did. At the time, I was applying for grad school and he mentioned that ATCEMS was in the process of changing their schedule to a 48 hour work week that would be seniority based. The more we talked, the more I was okay with the idea of not having to constantly switch my schedule around for school since, as the newbie, I would most likely work weekends for at least a couple of years. I applied and haven’t looked back since!

What is your favorite part about working here at ATCEMS?
I would have to say the willingness of my team to bend over backwards helping the people we come across. At the time we started developing Community Health, you could count the number of established programs in the nation on two hands, and not use all of your fingers. The willingness of the department to not only identify that “the way we’ve always done it” is not a viable option, but to also explore novel solutions and partnerships has helped give our team the ability to effect meaningful change in the lives of those we serve.

A close second is our Peer Support Team. I’ve been a part of the team since it was created and love the fact that I can help my colleagues. So much of our job involves helping others, but it’s a great feeling to help a coworker.

If you had guests visiting Austin for the weekend, where is the first place you would take them?
That depends, but probably some place involving food.

What is your favorite taco joint in town?
I wouldn’t call it strictly a taco place, but La Posada (West Gate/William Cannon) is amazing!

What do you do on your days off to relax and unwind?
Unwinding for me is highly variable. With the start of the New Year, my favorite time of the year is over (college football season). If the weather’s nice and I have enough time, a round of golf or a nice hike are always high on my list of options!

Who inspires you?
My parents. My mom has always had such drive and determination. The last couple of years my dad was alive I was constantly amazed at how much he fought to get better.

What is the next place you would like to visit? Why?
I’ve got several trips planned, but none firmed up. I think the grandest trip in the early planning stages is Ireland with my mom. Or was it Quebec?

Word of advice for an aspiring medic?
I have two things I’ve said to medics for at least as long as I’ve been a paramedic, maybe longer. First, and I learned this from an ER doctor when I first started working, is to learn something from everyone you meet. There are so many ways I ask questions that I picked up from various people along the way — ER docs & nurses, other medics, etc. Nobody’s assessment is patented. In that theme, learn from the negative encounters, too. Learn what you don’t like about an action or attitude, and work to avoid incorporating that in your actions or attitudes. Secondly, take care of yourself first. It’s okay to say no without feeling guilty. Take the time to work out in whatever form that entails. Use your vacation. It does you no good sitting nearly maxed out. Learn about self-care and practice it often.

Interested in a career with ATCEMS? Contact our Recruiting team at EMSRecruiting@austintexas.gov or give us a call at 512–974–1098. You can find dates for the hiring process elements here.

Follow us on all social media channels, and don’t forget to fill out a connect profile.

This publication features ATCEMS work culture and the lives of our medics. *Readings from other publications posted to Medium do not necessarily reflect the views or position of Austin-Travis County EMS, the City of Austin, or Travis County*

--

--