Meet-A-Medic: Katie Lorenz, Medic-Field

Rance Marion
ATCEMS Medics
Published in
4 min readFeb 22, 2019

I’m Katie Lorenz, currently working in Field Operations for ATCEMS as a Medic. I still consider myself new to EMS, with a career spanning just south of five years. My life up to this point has been spent as an athlete, a bookworm, a bartender, the little sister of six brothers, and a huge fan of dessert.

Where are you from originally and what brought you to Austin?
I was born and raised in Asheville, NC. I dabbled in liberal arts at UNC for a bit, then moved to San Diego, CA in 2012 to play competitive rugby and train at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, CA. Soon after retiring from the game, I went back to school and fell in love with emergency medicine. I knew I wanted to work in the public sector and for a progressive department; ATCEMS checked all of those boxes, so to Austin I went.

“I am aunt to 9 nieces and nephews! I come from a big family, and wouldn’t have it any other way.” (Pictured is Katie, her mom, and her niece, Nora)

What inspired you to become a medic/What attracted you to this career choice?
I think in a word, it was magnetism. I’ve always been drawn to public service. But I suppose the “light bulb” moment was when I witnessed a guy lose control of his bike, fly over the handlebars, and hit a retaining wall. My instincts kicked in and I ran to him. I remember feeling calm, but I was also completely frustrated with myself that I didn’t know exactly what to do. Knowing what I know now, pretty much everything I did that day was clinically inappropriate albeit well-intentioned. But I felt more purpose in that moment than I ever had before, and knew I should capitalize on those instincts. A couple years down the road I was sitting in the first lecture of my EMT-Basic training, completely smitten. And the rest, as they say, is history.

How long have you been with ATCEMS and what motivated you to work here?
I’m definitely one of the new kids on the block, with less than two years under my belt. My motivations to work here are many:
- ATCEMS is a public service entity; NOT a private company
- Free paramedic school, competitive wages and benefits
- Lateral and upward mobility within the department
- BLS/ALS partnerships on the truck, because there is an inherent benefit to working with someone who knows more than you do every shift
-Innovative/comprehensive interventions, treatments, medications with a wide scope of practice.

What is your favorite part about working here at ATCEMS?
There is a cultural undertone within this department that I thrive on- commitment. Whether it is to each other, to improving what we do, to serving our community, or to gaining more knowledge- we are all committed. That is a great message to subscribe to.

If you had guests visiting Austin for the weekend, where is the first place you would take them?
Good weather: Paddle boarding on the lake and then to eat
Bad weather: to my gym, Austin Bouldering Project, and then to eat

What is your favorite taco joint in town?
For “fancy” breakfast tacos: Picnik
For “I’m overwhelmed by all of the choices” tacos: Tyson’s Tacos
For “I could eat eight of these” tacos: Pollo verde tacos at Lazarus Brewing Co.

What do you do on your days to relax and unwind?
Easy! I go to the gym with my buddies, go home and get some sort of chore done to the tones of Ella Fitzgerald and co., cook myself dinner and eat while watching a Ken Burns documentary series. I might even top it off with an aromatherapy candle and an episode of Tidying Up with Marie Kondo. Then, fall asleep while reading. I live a very edgy life.

Who inspires you?
The Notorious Ruth Bader Ginsburg

What is the next place you would like to visit? Why?
I’ve always wanted to go to New Zealand, probably because it looked so mystical in the Lord of the Rings Trilogy.

Word of advice for an aspiring medic?
Never stop learning. Every single day is an opportunity for growth.

Interested in a career with ATCEMS? Contact our Recruiting team at EMSRecruiting@austintexas.gov or give us a call at 512–974–1098. You can find dates for the hiring process elements here.

Follow us on all social media channels, and don’t forget to fill out a connect profile!

This publication features ATCEMS work culture and the lives of our medics. *Readings from other publications posted to Medium do not necessarily reflect the views or position of Austin-Travis County EMS, the City of Austin, or Travis County*

--

--