Meet-A-Medic: Lia Bermudez, Medic — Community Health Program

Ashley Avants
ATCEMS Medics
Published in
4 min readJan 16, 2020

I’m Lia, currently serving on the Community Health Paramedic Team. I have been with ATCEMS since 2014. I’m originally from West Texas, and have been in Austin for 10 years. I have been married to my husband Jonathan for 14 years and we have two girls, Holly (9) and Hannah (4). We love spending time together as a family. When I’m not working I am doing schoolwork, pursuing my master’s degree in counseling. I also love baking with my daughters, reading, singing, playing guitar, and watching TV. We are also involved with our church and love spending time with folks from there.

Where are you from originally and what brought you to Austin?
I grew up in Fort Stockton, Texas — a little spot on I-10 between here and El Paso. I lived in Odessa for a short time, then we moved to San Antonio for about 3.5 years. There I graduated with my bachelor’s degree and we moved to Austin to start our family.

What inspired you to become a medic/What attracted you to this career choice?
I put off graduate school but wanted to do something besides waiting tables, which I had done for almost 10 years. Emergency medicine was always very intriguing to me, and I could see it being a satisfying and rewarding career. I also liked that it wasn’t the conventional 9–5 job being stuck at a desk.

How long have you been with ATCEMS and what motivated you to work here?
I will celebrate my 6-year anniversary with the City this month. There was nowhere else I wanted to work, having gotten my EMT certification in Austin. I had no idea of the challenges that awaited me but I wouldn’t trade the experience for anything.

What is your favorite part about working here at ATCEMS?
I love knowing that we actually make a difference in people’s lives. Whether it’s taking them to the ER or getting them connected to social and medical resources, I like knowing that I accomplished something with patients and clients.

If you had guests visiting Austin for the weekend, where is the first place you would take them?
We would likely go to Zilker Park so they could enjoy the outdoors and maybe go for a dip in Barton Springs pool.

What is your favorite taco joint in town?
Torchy’s! Their Brushfire tacos and queso are the best.

What do you do on your days off to relax and unwind?
Unwinding is definitely a luxury for a working mom in graduate school. But I love to read books purely for leisure, watch British crime dramas on Netflix, and hit up Summer Moon or Starbucks. Coffee is life.

Who inspires you?
My husband inspires me by being level-headed and resilient, even when things are crazy or stressful. He helps me stay the course and not give up. I am blessed with parents and in-laws that constantly encourage me and cheer me on.

What is the next place you would like to visit? Why?
I’m looking forward to visiting Europe, especially the UK and France. I love pretty much all things British, and I would love to try some French pastries straight out of a patisserie window.

Word of advice for an aspiring medic?
Learn all you can from people who have been doing this longer than you have. Find your own style of taking care of patients. Always tap into your sense of compassion. Take care of your body, mind, and relationships, because this job will tax all of them. Keep your hobbies and interests that lie outside of EMS and partake in them when you’re not working. You will need things that you enjoy that have nothing to do with public safety.

Interested in a career with ATCEMS? Contact our Recruiting team at EMSRecruiting@austintexas.gov or give us a call at 512–974–1098. You can find dates for the hiring process elements here.

Follow us on all social media channels, and don’t forget to fill out a connect profile.

This publication features ATCEMS work culture and the lives of our medics. *Readings from other publications posted to Medium do not necessarily reflect the views or position of Austin-Travis County EMS, the City of Austin, or Travis County*

--

--