Meet-A-Medic: Megan Rossi, Medic — Field

Ashley Avants
ATCEMS Medics
Published in
3 min readJan 15, 2020

I’m Megan Rossi and I work as a field medic for ATCEMS. I am brand new to Austin and have currently been enjoying getting to know everything this great city has to offer. I’ve been in EMS for a little over 3 years, after spending several years deciding what career was best for me. I love animals, especially my dachshund Chubbs and my tortoise Frankie. You can typically find me hanging with my friends listening to live music, and trying new food places in town.

Where are you from originally and what brought you to Austin?
I’m originally from Albuquerque, NM. Lived there my whole life. About 5 years ago I visited Austin and I fell in love with the city. Then I found out about ATCEMS, and I knew it was the place I wanted to be working in EMS.

What inspired you to become a medic/What attracted you to this career choice?
The thrill of the job! We get to be a part of many different moments in people’s lives, and that’s a great feeling. There’s nothing better than being the person that shows up for someone else on their worst day.

How long have you been with ATCEMS and what motivated you to work here?
I’m still new to ATCEMS. I’ve been here almost a year. The people, the professionalism of the department, and being a part of working for the great city of Austin is what motivated me. You can’t find that just anywhere.

What is your favorite part about working here at ATCEMS?
I’d say there are two things:
1) The people. I’ve made some of my greatest friends here. Moving to a city all alone, it’s awesome to be surrounded by some of the best people.
2) Working for a public service. You actually feel like you matter here. The community recognizes and thanks you for the services we provide. You don’t get that in private EMS.

If you had guests visiting Austin for the weekend, where is the first place you would take them?
That’s such a hard question because I’m still learning places myself. But I usually take them to my favorite grilled cheese food truck, Burro. It’s the best grilled cheese you’ll ever have!

What is your favorite taco joint in town?
My favorite breakfast tacos are at Casa Vallarta! And after breakfast I’d have to say Tacodeli is number 1 right now.

What do you do on your days off to relax and unwind?
Find anything new I can explore in the city with my friends. There’s so much to see and do.

Who inspires you?
My grandpa. He’s always been my role model in life. You can say he’s definitely my best friend.

What is the next place you would like to visit? Why?
There are so many, but my dream vacation would be Italy. Because well, it’s Italy!

Word of advice for an aspiring medic?
Don’t stop having fun. It’s the best, most rewarding career you will be a part of. And, of course, follow your dreams!

Interested in a career with ATCEMS? Contact our Recruiting team at EMSRecruiting@austintexas.gov or give us a call at 512–974–1098. You can find dates for the hiring process elements here.

Follow us on all social media channels, and don’t forget to fill out a connect profile.

This publication features ATCEMS work culture and the lives of our medics. *Readings from other publications posted to Medium do not necessarily reflect the views or position of Austin-Travis County EMS, the City of Austin, or Travis County*

--

--