Meet-A-Medic: Obie Jones, Medic-Field

Rance Marion
ATCEMS Medics
Published in
3 min readAug 19, 2019

I’m Obie Jones I’m currently assigned to the department’s Community Health Paramedic Team as one the BLS providers. Before I came to the department I was in high school at Westlake High School (GO CHPAS!) I was also involved in the department’s Explorer Post for 3.5–4 years. I started working for ATCEMS October 2016 and wouldn’t change a thing about it! My Husband and I stay busy with our 3 dogs and house projects! If we aren’t working on a house project you can catch us downtown hanging out with our friends.

Where are you from originally and what brought you to Austin?
I am a born and raised right here in Austin! I’m one of the few!

What inspired you to become a medic/What attracted you to this career choice?
Growing up I always wanted to help others and be able to have a positive impact in someone’s life! I think what really attracted me to this career was doing ride-outs as an explorer.

How long have you been with ATCEMS and what motivated you to work here?
When I was in my senior year in high school I was introduced to the department’s explorer program. I was able to do ride outs and learn from first hand experience what this amazing department has to offer!

What is your favorite part about working here at ATCEMS?
It’s hard to say what my favorite part about working here is. I love the position I’m in now with the Community Health Paramedic Program. I get to make a lasting impact in someone’s life! I also love being able to work all of the cool and fun events that Austin has to offer like SXSW and ACL!

If you had guests visiting Austin for the weekend, where is the first place you would take them?
That’s a tough one. It would either be the 360 overlook so they can get a sneak peek of the city they are about to see or Zilker Park/ Barton Springs.

What is your favorite taco joint in town?
Pacos Tacos DUH!

What do you do on your days to relax and unwind?
When I’m not at work you can either catch me visiting with friends or hiking some of the amazing trails Austin has to offer!

Who inspires you?
My best friends have always been my inspiration.

What is the next place you would like to visit? Why?
I would love to visit Australia within the next year! I have a friend down there that I haven’t seen in a while and who wouldn’t want to go to Australia?!

Word of advice for an aspiring medic?
It’s going to sound cheesy but set your goals high and never give up on them!

Interested in a career with ATCEMS? Contact our Recruiting team at EMSRecruiting@austintexas.gov or give us a call at 512–974–1098. You can find dates for the hiring process elements here.

Follow us on all social media channels, and don’t forget to fill out a connect profile.

This publication features ATCEMS work culture and the lives of our medics. *Readings from other publications posted to Medium do not necessarily reflect the views or position of Austin-Travis County EMS, the City of Austin, or Travis County*

--

--