Meet-A-Medic: Rose Bean, Medic — Communications

Ashley Avants
ATCEMS Medics
Published in
3 min readJan 2, 2020

I’m Rose Bean, an ATCEMS Communications Medic at CTECC (Combined Transportation, Emergency & Communications Center). I come from a fitness background, having earned a degree in Kinesiology. I was a personal trainer for 6 years and am now happy to be part of the ATCEMS community. I enjoy helping people. My boyfriend and I spend time with our little Yorkie, Penny, as much as we can (which means taking her with us wherever we can). We love to go to the gym and are currently training for a marathon. You can typically find us at Zilker Park or some new (or well-known) restaurant in town.

Where are you from originally and what brought you to Austin?
I was born in Plano, TX, but was brought to Austin maybe a few days later. Austin raised all the way!

What inspired you to become a medic/what attracted you to this career choice?
I want to help people. If there was ever an emergency I wanted to be the one to have the knowledge and the skills to help.
It’s amazing to watch medics work with patients. Their expertise and confidence led me to where I am today. I wanted to develop those skills and maintain that level of professionalism while doing so. That’s what attracted me to this career choice.

How long have you been with ATCEMS and what motivated you to work here?
I’ve been with ATCEMS for a little over eight months now. I was excited to see the level of professionalism and the camaraderie between medics here.

What is your favorite part about working here at ATCEMS?
Definitely all of the friends I’ve made during my processes here. It’s been fun getting to know everyone!

If you had guests visiting Austin for the weekend, where is the first place you would take them?
Either to brunch at Caroline’s, Mandola’s, or any hot spot food place I happen to be into at the time! Austin food options are the best!

What is your favorite taco joint in town?
El Taquito!

What do you do on your days off to relax and unwind?
I love to go to the gym and lift most days! I also love to take my dog to the local parks, like Zilker. She loves to roam around and seek attention.

Who inspires you?
The whole B shift in Communications! I learned so much working with them when I was a cadet. I am so grateful for all of the knowledge and experience they have shared with me. Everyone’s unique style contributes to my style today.

What is the next place you would like to visit? Why?
Greece! The architecture is so beautiful and breathtaking. I haven’t traveled overseas yet and that’s where I would love to go first.

Word of advice for an aspiring medic?
Stay confident and motivated. The work we do is tough but if you have a passion for helping others, and practice/study all of the material, that will show in the work you put in. Keep your head up, especially when times get rocky.

Interested in a career with ATCEMS? Contact our Recruiting team at EMSRecruiting@austintexas.gov or give us a call at 512–974–1098. You can find dates for the hiring process elements here.

Follow us on all social media channels, and don’t forget to fill out a connect profile.

This publication features ATCEMS work culture and the lives of our medics. *Readings from other publications posted to Medium do not necessarily reflect the views or position of Austin-Travis County EMS, the City of Austin, or Travis County*

--

--