5 ways to get over the psychological effects of your body shaming

Peculiar Ediomo-Abasi
Athena Talks
Published in
3 min readJan 29, 2018

I am a slim lady, pretty at that, but I never saw the beauty in my body size, not until 3 years back. I can imagine what must be running through your mind now… “What??? Since when did being slim become an issue or a worry?” I admit, it’s crazy actually; especially as the media is flooded with tips on how to lose weight.

Body shaming for me, started when I got into high school. My classmates would tease me and call me funny names like “Skinnybone”. I did not like it at all, but when I tried to stop them, it seemed like it made them discover more names to call me. It didn’t feel right at all, but if I had known any better, I would not have let it get to my heart, but it did.

This insecurity went with me into college. If someone made any mention of my stature I would readily conclude that they were at it with the body shaming thing. You know how someone would start a sentence with “I don’t mean to insult you…” but ends up insulting the living day out of you… That’s how college was for me.

I had long gotten done with college, but still carried the weight of body shaming with me. At some point, I felt pressurized to add up. Imagine my surprise when I “googled” up “How to add weight” and I could barely find a straight-up article on it. Instead, there are tons of articles on how to lose weight. In my head I began to wonder why so many people are bothered about changing themselves. For goodness sake, who started this craze? Society?

Beauty begins, the moment you decide to be yourself.” –Coco Chanel

Application of beauty products will not cure or prevent insecurity. That change can only begin from the inside out.” –Anonymous

The truly powerful lady, is that lady who has accepted herself, seen the beauty in her imperfections, and doesn’t need anyone to validate her” –Anonymous

Are you ready to tap into some life transforming super powers??? Let’s get started!

1. Write out your limiting beliefs about yourself, and replace them with good and healthy beliefs: Regardless of whoever you may have been compared with, or whatever derogatory statement anyone may have made about your body, it is up to you to decide if they are true or lies.

The potent power of “I am” is solely yours. Use it to your advantage. (i.e : Change “I am ugly” to “I am beautiful”, then start believing it)

2. Identify those around you that are body-positive: You need to surround yourself with people that refuse to comment on other’s appearances, except they are complimenting them.

Spending time with people who see the beauty in their body and celebrate it will be helpful while you start the process of learning to love and accept your body.

3. If you ever have to change anything about your body, do it for you, not for validation: It is okay to want to lose or gain weight because you so desire to, out of no pressure or societal influence. It is also ideal to lose or gain weight for health reasons, especially when recommended by a health practitioner.

4. Focus on you: Stop comparing yourself with others. Own your beauty, nurture it and let it glow. Get so busy doing that, that you do not have the time to compare yourself with anyone.

When you catch yourself comparing your body with someone else’s … Know that you have shifted your beauty focus from you to that person. Re-focus Immediately!

5. Take good care of your body: Eat well. Drink water. Exercise. Wash your body. Compliment your body. Love your body etc.

Thanks for the read. Feel free to make your claps re-sound-ing!

--

--

Peculiar Ediomo-Abasi
Athena Talks

Product Manager | Tech Community Manager | Freelance Writer