I met a future rape gang and I didn’t know what to do

A.J. Watt
Athena Talks
Published in
2 min readMar 17, 2016

Yesterday I was chased down the street by a dozen boys, all roughly eleven to fourteen years old. They had started by encircling my friend, who is a friend of one of their older brothers, and I at our table on a cafe’s patio. They started by talking, normal as you please. I’m American and my friend is German, on an exchange year in italy; we’re used to getting questioned. But then things took a turn. They started asking if my friend and I were dating.

We aren’t.

Then they started tapping my shoulders. Then touching my hair. Then telling me to suck their dicks.

I told them to go away.

They laughed.

I told them to fuck off.

They laughed more.

I told my friend I wanted to go. We got up, we started walking away.

They started walking after us.

We crossed the street.

They were still yelling at me, bizarre, profane, sexual things.

We got to where we were going.

I was enraged. But there isn’t anything I could do about it. And thats the problem.

I’ve never been catcalled. At most, men would whistle. A few times man have barked at me, or yelled out car windows. Guys honk when I go running. But no one has ever actually said words to me. No stranger has ever actually told me to suck their dick from across the street. And these were little boys.

I wasn’t afraid. I was pissed. I was bigger than them and I knew I could have knocked one flat on his ass, but there were too many to even try.

I am afraid though for four years from now when puberty has hit and their sexual aggression gets worse and they get bigger and all of a sudden some girl is running down the street, being chased by a gang of a dozen boys, all roughly between fifteen and nineteen years old, screaming suck my dick, and meaning it. Those boys are a rape gang waiting to happen and I had the joy of meeting them in their developmental stages.

No one ever taught me what to do if I am confronted by a bunch of men who want to sexually assault me. At least they told me it happens.

What I really never knew was that little boys are being taught to do it too.

--

--

A.J. Watt
Athena Talks

I gave up writing for high school. Now that I’ve taken a year off, I’ve decided to pick it back up. Focusing on producing and improving.