I’m a fucking angry feminist, and that’s okay.

Excuse me, I just need to lose my shit for a few minutes.

Kai Katschthaler
Athena Talks
3 min readApr 26, 2016

--

“Just stand there in your wrongness and be wrong and get used to it.”

I’m currently boiling on the inside and I can’t make it stop. Maybe writing it all out will calm me down, who knows. Maybe it’ll at least get me to a point where I can get my work done today without the constant inner turmoil. Also, I believe this anger is bad for my blood pressure, so consider this a measure for my health.

Things and people that are pissing me off, in no particularly particular order:

  • Men who think they don’t need feminism.
  • Women who think they don’t need feminism.
  • Women who tell people they don’t need feminism.
  • Women who claim they are feminists but discriminate against LGBTQIA people or speak in an ableist fashion (seriously, can you not see that we are all in the same boat?).
  • White feminists who still haven’t understood that we need intersectionality.
  • Women who only pay lip service to feminism but would never ever pick an upcoming woman over an established man for a job. Because, gods forbid you give someone a shot. Instead, keep supporting the patriarchy!
  • Opportunists. Holy fuck, nothing and no one pisses me off more than opportunists who will do a volte-face whenever it suits them.
  • Arrogant bastards who only acknowledge the existence of people if they can gain something from it. Oh wait, I already mentioned that I hate opportunists.
  • People who are completely unaware of their own privilege and also show no interest in learning about it. As Ani DiFranco once sang: “[…]privilege is a headache / That you don’t know that you don’t have.”
  • Self-described feminist women who say things like, “I don’t like weak women,” or, “women should pick a mentor who’s either really old or gay.”
  • People who whine: “Please, can we not make this part of your feminist agenda.”

Quite obviously, something in me has cracked over the past few days. The lava is streaming out. The kettle is whistling. The pot is boiling over.

You want to call me an angry feminist, because I refuse to stand complacent and make feminism a quiet and quaint affair that doesn’t offend you? Because feminism is all fine and dandy as long as it doesn’t actually rock the boat?

Then, yeah, I’m angry. I’m fucking pissed!

I’m a fucking angry feminist.

Please recommend the post to others by clicking on the ❤ button because that’s how Medium works. Otherwise, no one will see this and it’ll die a sad, lonely death in the ethers of the interwebs. Thank you.

--

--

Kai Katschthaler
Athena Talks

writer, loudmouth, feminist, polymath, goofball, mental health activist ||| startup consultant at www.katschthaler.com ||| founder of www.taboolarasa.org