It is 2017 and I am today’s woman

Julia Makinde
Athena Talks
Published in
3 min readMar 7, 2017

I adore past and modern day heroines of business, commerce, science, economics and art who have accomplished exceptional feats that resonate well beyond their expertise and societies. I applaud the mothers who don their multi-layered capes every day to be all things to their children, relatives and communities. These women are by no means perfect but in their way they strive to accomplish these tasks to the benefit of the wider society.

I am today’s woman. Strong, bold and resilient.

I represent half of the world’s 8 billion individuals. I smile at the adoption of policies that create opportunities for me around the world. I am encouraged by the consideration of laws aimed at reducing the barriers to my participation in today’s society. I am excited by individual and organisational efforts to educate and empower the boy and girl child to attain their full potential with due consideration for all regardless of their race, sex, creed or social status.

I am today’s woman.

I am saddened by the lack of uniformity in the adoption of these laws and policies globally. I long for a day when every woman will truly understand her potential. When we will all become aware of the resources at our disposal and the power that we wield as individuals and collectively to initiate and push for the kind of change that eliminates unfair barriers in societies around the world. When there will be no need for reminders to eschew bias in our dealings as a society.

I am a global citizen and yet I face challenges that are unique to my community. In the United States of America aspects of my reproductive health are still subject to political debate. In the United Kingdom my right to decide on my footwear in my place of work is currently being discussed. Across Europe I still earn less than my peers who are male. In Syria, Afghanistan, Somalia and South Sudan, I make up a significant proportion of the people displaced by conflict. In Nigeria a bill to protect me and ensure gender equality was recently rejected by lawmakers. In Ghana I encounter sexism on a regular basis. In Djibouti and Eritrea female genital mutilation is still prevalent. Across Sub-Saharan Africa, I make up a significant proportion of people infected by HIV. My right to use appropriate protection to prevent sexually transmitted infections is often constrained by societal constructs that deem my choices to be less important than those of my peers who are male. In India I am discriminated against well before I am born. Across the world my access to education is poor and I am not guaranteed safety during the birthing process.

You are today’s woman.

Yes, you who are born of a woman. Her gains are yours, as are her travails. She is your, child, sister, friend, wife, partner and mother. What will you do to ensure that she thrives?

--

--