The Wondrous and Womanly World of Officiating Weddings

Tracy Brisson
Athena Talks
Published in
16 min readJul 7, 2017

--

Reflections on the highs and lows of the unconventional job of celebrating and solemnizing love in a complex world.

During the summer of 2014, I began a new career as a non-denominational and secular wedding officiant in Savannah, Georgia. To be honest, officiating weddings was my Hail Mary pass during a challenging period in my life, an attempt to make extra money on the weekends doing something I guessed I might like while I figured out what was next. That risk unexpectedly birthed a growing company that includes three partner officiants and a wedding chapel, and most importantly, it was the beginning of one of the grandest adventures of my life.

Together, my officiants and I have married hundreds of couples (823 as of July 7th, to be exact!) since then, from all corners of the world and every walk of life. Every morning when I leave my house to go to work, my husband tells me to go and “marry all the people,” and every day, I try my best to do exactly that and kick ass while doing it.

Photo by It’s Megan Jones Photography. http://itsmeganjones.com

What does it mean to marry all the people? It means giving everyone who wants a dignified route to marriage that opportunity, whether it is an intimate marriage license signing or a ceremony with 200 of their closest friends. Before I had private space, I married hundreds of couples in a local coffee shop while we all…

--

--

Tracy Brisson
Athena Talks

Owner & Wedding Officiant at @SavWeddings Founder: @oppsproject Author: Confessions of a Teacher Recruiter (@teacherrecruitr) Southern transplant and new mom.