Vévé a lost part of my Haitian Identity

Hertz Nazaire
Athena Talks
Published in
4 min readDec 27, 2016
Veve for Papa Legba

Some people wonder what are these white lines and symbols I use in my Art?

They are elements of Veve (often spelled Vévé or Vevé)

Elements of Vévé I often use in my Art

Veve are a religious symbol commonly used in different branches of voudou throughout the African diaspora. It acts as a beacon for the Loa, and will serve as a loa’s representation during rituals. Veve is usually drawn on the floor by strewing white powder to create the designs, in Haitian Vodou, a mixture of cornmeal and wood ash is often used to create this powder. In my work I use white oil pastels or acrylic paint for my lines.

“Fire” Haitian Island Spirits by Hertz Nazaire

I am using Veve to represent African and Haitian Culture in my work, just a little hidden puzzle for those who know what they are and where they come from.

“Earth” Haitian Island Spirits series by Hertz

Many are just segments taken from a larger Veve that represent Goddesses in Haitian Vodou lore. The Veve is usually the last thing I put up on each piece I create.

My Work on Exhibit in Bridgeport, Connecticut

Some Haitians have shun my art because I use Veve elements sometimes choosing works that lack those elements over the ones that feature Veve. But I have continued to use Veve as a signature part of my work that represents my own heritage and life’s journey.

Most reject that part of my art do so because they are Haitian Christians who have learned to fear what Veve represents.

I tend to paint elements of Veve on my jeans as well

I find it amusing that my God-sister gets annoyed when I paint segments on my jeans because she is a heavy into vodou practice as her religion of choice.

I just feel I am creating my own little realm in my paintings, each women represents an element of nature, beauty, and grace, as a Goddess from different parts of Africa.

I am very skeptical about all thing having to do with religion or superstition and magic these days. I highly value evidence-based Science and critical thinking, so these symbols have very little meaning to me personally beyond the aesthetics and historical value behind them. I have a deep fondness and respect for them because they represent my African roots.

I am proud to be born Haitian and I feel this is my way of doing for Haitian Vodou what artists of the Renaissance did for Christianity. They painted about Biblical events and Biblical figures for the Church. The only patrons most artist had back then was the Church. I am lucky to live in an age where I can find patrons of the arts on websites like Patreon to support my art creations.

Art of Hertz Nazaire

I am doing the same for an older African Faith, but I allow myself room to envision new stories or interpretations from just my own experience of growing up with this culture all around me. I think of it as reversing the clock on the work of Missionaries, I am giving back to the people what their ancestors valued. I feel when we gave that part of us up we gave up a major part of our identity.

Bec0me my Patron on patreon.com/nazaire

I hope my work can help inspire others to explore lost or fogotten parts of their identity and heritage.

Hertz Nazaire

--

--

Hertz Nazaire
Athena Talks

ハイチのスーパーフラット #KingsOfHaiti Artist PAINter #Haiti - Life is shorter than we can hope for... I wish to dedicate the days I have to inspiring compassion with Art