We Should Start Asking For Stuff

Eden Dranger
Athena Talks
Published in
2 min readApr 6, 2016

Can you please read this post?

This is my first request among my list of requests I plan to make this year.

Why? Because I’m sick of being complacent and I think everyone should start asking for things. I often feel like a nerd, shy to ask the most popular person out on date.

Over and over I read about how women make less than men and that most don’t negotiate their salary at the risk of being perceived as “pushy”. Only 29% of screenwriters are women. Most stand up comedy line-ups just have their one “obligatory female comic”.

Women are funny, women can write, but most importantly, too many women don’t want to disappoint anyone. In fact, most people, not JUST women, don’t disappoint anyone.

But I’ve had enough waiting and I’m done being afraid of disappointing anyone.

This is the year I’m going to start asking.

Readers that personally know me: take this as a forewarning that I may bug some of you in need your help, advice, a piece of your pizza, or maybe even you HBO Go password.

I want to to do more stand up. I’m going ask comedy show producers for some time (and fuck off, “bringer show producers”).

I want my pilot to be picked up. I’m going to start bugging important people about just listening to my idea.

I want to write a book about my experience losing my parents and losing my breasts to avoid getting breast cancer. You bet your pilates-sculpted ass I’m going to start bugging literary agents asking them to believe in me.

I’ve been living independently without my parents being alive for a while and if there’s anything I’ve learned it’s that although I want to do ANYTHING, I can’t, at least not without help. I’m done trying to be polite and complacent. I fear coming across as “annoying” but if someone thinks I’m annoying in my way of my dreams coming true, I think that’s ok.

So I’m gonna start asking, and I encourage you to do it too.

Just don’t ask me to share my fries with you.

--

--