Girl Diaries

Why I Hate Being Called A Girl!

I Love Being It, But Not Reminded!

Nupoor Raj
Athena Talks

--

“A blonde woman in a blue hoodie smoking a cigarette in Люберцы” by Stas Svechnikov on Unsplash

I best describe myself as a ‘Tomboy’. Not because I shy away from being a girl..but labeling myself as one, keeps me reminded of my limitations. I don’t feel comfortable being ‘Me’ anymore.

I am sufficiently daring…fiercely independent…strong and capable. I am courageous, intrepid.

But somewhere, something keeps stopping me from crossing my ‘limits’. The limits which my ‘Safety Instinct’ has set for me.

The ‘safety instinct’ that keeps me feeling afraid to pursue some of my desires.

Sometimes, I just prefer disconnecting from the human world.

I dream to trip solo- somewhere out in the cold deserts or in the midst of a vast blue ocean. With just me and my peace of mind.

But I cant possibly do that — Even though I know girls too have solo trips- my girl friends have had it!

But I am apprehensive.

Might be due to the number of molestation cases I have been seeing in newspapers all my growing years.

Or the brutal gang rapes on ladies touring in alien cities alone!

Or the Breaking news of girls being the soft target for robbers and snatchers!

Or the many times that I have personally faced sexual harassment in some form or the other.

I am sure ALL the women readers will be able to relate themselves to this!

It’s just that some of us escape narrowly and some are trapped!

I don’t know which incident has hampered my self confidence or affected my ‘danger senses’ (now that it keeps beeping whenever I am alone).

But I do know this list has been building on since the day I identified to label myself as a ‘Girl’.

And so you see? That’s why it pinches to label myself a ‘Girl’. It reminds me of umpteen dreadful and nasty memories!

Let me be in my bubble. Let my identity be misled!

If that gives me comfort, let there be darkness!!

--

--

Nupoor Raj
Athena Talks

27. Pragmatic, ambivert, epistemophile. Optometrist. Writer by passion, Poet by a natural flaw | Not a Priest; Not an Atheist.