Women Who Reign: Chengsu Chen

Reinvented Magazine
Athena Talks
Published in
3 min readAug 22, 2016

“Don’t follow your dreams — chase them.”
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
After this summer I’ll be finishing up my fifth year at the University of Washington where I double major in Information Science and Business. I’m currently a UX Design intern at Google. In my free time I usually try to read books or work on small design projects. I love to travel and hope to revisit some of my favorite places in Asia (Tokyo, Shanghai).

Fun fact: In Japan, I fed a deer at Nara Park in Osaka and by showing me gratitude, it bowed its head to me

What # would define your life journey?
#cantstopwontstop

Favorite website / app:
Google Keep. I often go from one productivity app to another, keeping the ones that I find suit my lifestyle. I recently discovered Google Keep and it’s just a great cross-platform note-taking app that helps keep my life organized.😉

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Tracy Chou
Steve Tompkins (host at Google) — he taught me to always do what I believe is right and is best for myself as a designer, student, and employer.

Song that makes you want to dance:
I have a lot but I’m currently really into This Is What You Came For by Calvin Harris ft. Rihanna.

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Learning java as a Junior in college having no prior programming experience was definitely challenging. My brain had never been wired to process the underlying logic of computer programming so it took me a bit more practice than the some of my classmates to really understand it. I would spend my free time solving practice problems to really drill the concepts in my memory.

Ideal Job:
Lead product/UX designer

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
“Be bold or italic. Never regular.” As a design enthusiast, I find this quote cheeky but also impactful. We should take initiative in paving our way to success instead of waiting for it to happen. To try and fail is better than never trying at all. We need to be ambitious and as women, we should strive to empower each other.

--

--