Work Harder, Do More and Make It Happen!

Anastasiya Mozgovaya
Athena Talks
Published in
3 min readJul 17, 2017

The more I work, the more people surprise me (negatively more often than not). It is unclear to me what the point of doing something is, if you are not willing to invest your time, pay attention and make an actual effort. I do realize and acknowledge that for many a job is just a job, but if you are young and new — please don`t be that way and keep on reading!

From time to time I hear about someone not being able to get a job, and I don`t get it. I am sure it is hard for middle-aged people or those who are even older, because the lack many of the skills that are necessary today. And even in their cases, I do not understand why very often those people deny an option of obtaining those skills, learning something new and changing. Naturally, it is hard, but is there an alternative? Remain jobless? I think it should not be an acceptable option at all.

And when it comes to people my age, I am literally outraged. What do you mean, you are 20 and you cannot get a job? WHAT? So many markets are growing, so many companies are starting out or making huge steps forward. You have to keep on searching until you find something. Yes, of course, you won`t earn much at first. And how can you even expect it to be any other way, if there is very little you can do and your experience is zero? Think about it! If you are still sure that you must earn a fortune right away, think again.

If there is something you cannot do, but have to do for your job, find a way to obtain that skill. Maybe you need to read some articles or a few books and practice, maybe you just have to Google it and find an explanation on how to do it. Sometimes simply asking a colleague is enough. However, don`t ignore the fact that you are incapable of something. Don`t let it stay that way for a long time. Yes, maybe your boss will accept it, but this is not a win for you.

Some do not know English. WHAT THE HELL? How can you live in 2017 and not know English? Look, I am not talking about those who have very few opportunities in undeveloped countries. I am talking about people who have Facebook and Instagram, a laptop and probably an iPhone. How can they now know English these days? Literally any career you may want to build will require English at some point. How could one deliberately limit oneself that much? It really is unclear to me.

Know your strong sides and your weak ones. Acknowledge the first and work on the second. Patient, determined and hard-working people are always in demand. Yes, unfortunately some bosses do not care about how much effort you make, but what matters the most is to make sure that you do your best. Every single day. Every single time you do something. Every damn time.

P.S. Medium, I missed you damn much! I have not posted anything here for five months, which is insane, because last year I had been obsessed with all things Medium. It feels good to be back, and I am eager to continue publishing here regularly again. Meanwhile, you can always check my blog, where new texts appear twice a week. I hope your Monday is at least a bit a fun day.

--

--