First row from top left to right: Penny Baltatzi (Someone Who Isn’t Me), Daphne Lazou (Daphne and the Fuzz), Anna Papathanasiou (Puta Volcano), Katerina Papachristou (Tango With Lions). Second row from bottom left to right: Emily Papatheochari (Emi Path), Sofia Sarri, Lamprini Grigoriadou (Million Hollers), Nefeli Liouta (Nefeli Walking Undercover), Irini Pappas (Allochiria). Collage: Katerina Karali

How Does it Feel to Be a Frontwoman in Greece?

Ten young female Greek musicians talk about their experience and sexism in the local music industry.

Eleni Tzannatou
AthensLive
Published in
13 min readNov 3, 2017

--

History has shown that women have had to try a bit more to succeed in the music industry, just like in every other field. From the almost doll-like set-up of girl groups such as the Shangri-Las back in the ’60s, to duets such as the couple of Ike and Tina Turner -where Tina’s seemingly strong image hid the abuse by her husband- it has been manifested that it is not all rosy.

However, along the way, women managed to become dominant singers and songwriters (Joni Mitchell), rock ’n’ roll poets (Patti Smith), and even got to the riot grrrl movement, to “get angry” with punk and ensure their presence in all music genres since then. From pure pop to rather “male-dominated” genres such as metal and electro.

But what about the current social situation in Greece? What does it mean to be a female musician, particularly a frontwoman, in 2017 in Greece? I talked to ten women who are in this very position and they unravelled the tangle of their relationship with music.

Ηow they all started

They all “contracted the microbe” of music mainly at home: either from dad’s records, or because their parents were musicians and therefore, sooner or later, they decided to pick a musical instrument themselves.

Nefeli Walking Undercover (Photo: Prodromos Stampouloglou​)

It all started when I was only a fetus, during Pink Floyd’s 1989 live at OAKA (stadium in Athens)! — Nefeli Liouta (Nefeli Walking Undercover)

Virtually from my mother’s belly, music has been a basic component of education and entertainment in our house. It became official when I was 5–6 years-old, when I started taking piano lessons. — Anna Papathanassiou (Puta Volcano)

My father still has the cassettes with my 3 year-old-self singing. — Penny Baltatzi

Dad’s records, the pop music of the era, and a guitar at home, tickled my ears. When I held the guitar in my hands and the Beatles came into my life — at approximately the age of 6 or 7- I knew that the honeymoon with music had begun. — Lamprini Grigoriadou (Million Hollers)

I was 9 years old when I saw my cousin playing the piano, and I fell in love. That was it! -Emilia Papatheochari (Emi Path)

Since infancy. My favorite albums were Lilipoupoli and, in primary school, Chaos A.D. of Sepultura. All wrong … I was spending my time at the record stores in Chania, I read every music magazine that I could get hold of. At the age of 16 I started singing in a band and I realized that this was what I wanted to do. -Sofia Sarri

With my family we were spending weekends at home listening to Led Zeppelin and Pink Floyd on loudspeakers, Deep Purple and Black Sabbath on the way to the beach. We had 5–6 guitars at home, one day I decided I wanted to learn how to play. -Irini Pappa (Allochiria)

Piano was my first instrument, followed by the guitar. In my teens I played songs by Cure, Siouxsie and the Banshees, PJ Harvey, Smashing Pumpkins, Sonic Youth, dEUS. I started playing the bass, participating in bands, and performing at live shows. In 2007 I decided to work on my own songs and to establish the band Tango With Lions. –Katerina Papachistou (Tango With Lions)

My dad played the flute, baglamas, and he always whistled melodies at home. My mom used to play the piano, sing, teach Carl Orff music therapy, and there were a lot of small percussions in our house. In primary school I ventured at the violin, piano, accordion and chorus singing. In secondary school I began to integrate the melodies I had composed to create songs with English lyrics. –Daphne Lazou (Daphne and the Fuzz)

When I was a kid I played the harmonium. At 35 I decided to learn how to play the drums with Nikos Sidirokastritis. Then, Marilena and I decided to form a band. –Maria (Someone Who Isn’t Me)

At 9 years old I started playing the synthesizer. I earned a diploma, I became a music teacher and when I got bored, I started playing synth in bands. I formed Berlin Brides, then SWIM. I also compose music for cinema, theater, advertising, and I produce dj sets of electronic music. –Lou (Someone Who Isn’t Me)

Are there double standards towards female musicians?

If you believe that gender inequality is non-existent in music, you need to reconsider.

You can encounter sexism at any time, whether you are a man or a woman. When you sing from the age of 16 years old you observe and experience many things. It is essential to remain upright. -Penny Baltatzi

There have been several incidents that make me laugh. Once, during a performance with Night on Earth and Thanasis Papakonstandinou at Petra Theater, the audience was screaming about my hair, my dress, then they threw a glass bottle at us. Fortunately they missed. Much worse than that has happened to me in the streets, at times when I didn’t expect it. -Sofia Sarri

Sofia Sarri. Photo: Michalis Kouris

Unfortunately, yes. My co-workers are mostly open-minded but I have experienced sexism camouflaged as a “joke”. When I was playing the bass, there were some very stupid comments regarding a phallus and my bass. –Katerina Papachristou (Tango With Lions)

I have not experienced unequal behavior. -Irini Pappa (Allochiria)

Not so far! I always make an entrance with my “tutor-stiff” style, behind my myopia glasses, and I assert myself! — Nefeli Liouta (Nefeli Walking Undercover)

In the past, I participated in a band where they underestimated my work to the extent that had me wondering why they wanted to work with me in the first place. Once, they whispered some comments, purposefully loud enough for me to hear. That was the end of it! -Emilia Papatheochari (Emi Path)

No. What bothers me most has to do with myself. I struggle hard to continuously prove to the world that I am more than just a sweet little girl. –Daphne Lazou (Daphne and the Fuzz)

Of course, let’s not fool ourselves. Once, a producer discredited us with sexist comments, due to an earlier disagreement, during the creative process. Moreover, take a closer look at the Greek festivals that took place this year and count the female artists’ participation. You will freak out. -Someone Who Isn’t Me

Inequality can be found in small, everyday things. Workplaces are only a simple manifestation of the general approach towards women in the context of the patriarchal society. I need to confirm I’m a qualified musician, even when it’s about the fundamentals, unlike my male colleagues. -Lamprini Grigoriadou (Million Hollers)

Do Greek frontwomen have idols?

From Delia Derbyshire to Grimes, some women stood out, not only for their music but also for their attitude.

Lili Boulanger, a girl who died at the age of 24 but managed to leave behind her remarkable work as a composer. She was the first woman to receive the Composition Prize in the Prix de Rome, in a highly male-dominated profession and at a very young age (early 20th century). -Emilia Papatheochari (Emi Path)

Flery Dandonaki, Sotiria Bellou, Maria Callas, Nina Simone, Sister Rosseta Tharp, Kim Gordon, PJ Harvey, Janis Joplin. Female fighters, created a new identity by reinventing themselves. -Anna Papathanassiou (Puta Volcano)

Anna Papathanasiou (Puta Volcano)

From Janis Joplin to Grimes, St. Vincent, Sky Ferreira. They go beyond the classic female standards. There should be no reason to classify artists — or any other type of professionals — according to their sex. –Daphne Lazou (Daphne and the Fuzz)

Patti Smith. She mixed poetry with rock ’n’ roll. She had a pure start in music when the scene in New York was going through a lot of trubulence. -Lamprini Grigoriadou (Million Hollers)

Princess Nokia, who threw soup at a racist offender on a train. I admire women who are successfully testing themselves, such as Julia Holter and Grouper. –Nefeli Liouta (Nefeli Walking Undercover)

Nine Zacha. She sang, played the piano, flute, drums, tap-danced and had *that* voice.. -Penny Baltatzi

Orianthi, a terrific guitarist. Julie Christmas for the feeling that she has. Lorde because at such an early age she manages to be enviable by remaining humble. Sia because she decided to come in the front line very late. Lady Gaga because she has a great voice, music education, and she is not afraid to do what she likes. -Irini Pappa (Allochiria)

Bjork, because she creates in perfect connection with her heart and mind and has released some of my favorite albums. She remains true to herself as an artist and as an entity. -Sofia Sarri

Someone Who Isn’t Me. Photo: Anna Tagkalou

PJ Harvey. Multifarious, incredible musician, artist, performer. She redefines herself continuously. Poetess. Delia Derbyshire, one among the first women who made electronic music in the basements of the BBC. -Someone Who Isn’t Me

Kate Bush for her natural talent, the subversive music, purely artistic attitude — no thirst for fame. I also admire this in Patti Smith. And the poeticity of her life, her lyrical expression and of course, her work. –Katerina Papachristou (Tango With Lions)

How much space is there for women on the Greek stages?

There is enough, provided that women pro-actively claim the space which they deserve.

There is room to grow. Equal opportunities are being claimed and achieved. Last summer I performed with The Man from Managra at the Antiracist Festival in Athens and all the bands in the line-up included at least one female member. That is very hopeful. -Lamprini Grigoriadou (Million Hollers)

Singing has a long history in Greece and women are a big part of it. There is space, as long as you claim it. -Penny Baltatzi

Penny Baltatzi Photo: Christos Tzoutis

We are plentiful and we are awesome! Women’s solo projects are commonly framed by male musicians. I don’t know how this can be explained. But there is room for women, indeed. — Nefeli Liouta (Nefeli Walking Undercover)

Professional space does exist, as long as someone claims it. -Emilia Papatheochari (Emi Path)

Artistic space should be coupled with the intention to produce something meaningful, it can not just exist for self-promotion and conquest of fame. -Anna Papathanassiou (Puta Volcano)

Nowadays, a band seeking a drummer will not reject a girl because of her gender, nor will a concert hall reject girl bands. The audience accepts women, too. -Irini Pappa (Allochiria)

I do not care about one’s gender when I listen to music. The Greek music scene is full of talented musicians. Discrimination comes in a different form. Opportunities can be given to a girl just because she is a girl and this “helps appearances”, basically ignoring the work she produces. -Sofia Sarri

There is no limitation of opportunities. In the art sector, mentalities are usually more progressive, but disguised sexism requires attention and addressing. –Katerina Papachristou (Tango With Lions)

It has been subconsciously conveyed that women can be mainly solo artists and only rarely band members. At school, the girls who were interested in playing the guitar, drums, or the bass were fewer than those who played the piano or sang. The same stereotype as in “boys play football and girls do ballet”. I’m surprised with new projects I discover in Greece. However, the audience or the artistic product does not grow beyond some narrow borders, and that is a pity. -Daphne and the Fuzz

The space is limited but we demand it passionately. I felt justified that in last year’s SXSW (2017), there were two female bands from Greece (Stella, Someone Who Is Not Me). -Someone Who Isn’t Me

Would you distinguish some of your contemporary (or not) female colleagues?

Chrysa Tsaltabassi and Sofia Sarri. Terrific, each with her own abundant work. -Irini Pappa (Allochiria)

I have many Greek and foreign male drummers in my newsfeed but only one woman: Danae Palaka. — Nefeli Liouta (Nefeli Walking Undercover)

Meledine. She is an artist who lives through her troubles and reflections. -Emilia Pathheochari (Emi Path)

Anna Linardou is my favorite singer in Greece. -Sofia Sarri

I loved the first work of Marthilia Svarna, the work of Stella and of Katerina Douska. –Daphne Lazou (Daphne and the Fuzz)

Lia from No Sin. A band from Thessaloniki that performed mainly in squats and social spaces, now inactive. I consider her the Patti Smith of Thessaloniki. -Lamprini Grigoriadou (Million Hollers)

From Callas to Flery Dandonaki, Vicky Moscholiou, Polly Panou, Tania Tsanaklidou, Natassa Bofiliou and Marietta Fafouti, who has stood out so greatly in what she does. -Penny Baltatzi

Sugahspank, Irini from Allochiria, Melentini, Tania from Universe 217. They work on a male-dominated genre yet they are not intimidated. -Anna Papathanassiou (Puta Volcano)

We appreciate ALL Greek female musicians! We fall particularly for Prasini Lesvia and for the perpetually agile dj Fo. -Someone Who Isn’t Me

I will always admire (the late) Mary Tsoni. True, distinct, fearless high-level performer. -Katerina Papachristou (Tango With Lions)

How different do the Greek frontwomen assume that the situation is abroad?

For some, being abroad offers more opportunities; for others, management plays an important role, while some believe that diversity and gender issues can eventually “stifle” what really matters: music itself.

Lamprini Grigoriadou (Million Hollers)

It is likely that female musicians abroad enjoy better conditions simply because America saw this happening much earlier. -Lamprini Grigoriadou (Million Hollers)

I have lived abroad for the past two years. Here, nobody cares about one’s gender. All I’ve heard was “She’s pregnant and touring Europe already, bravo!” at a Mamiffer’s live. -Irini Pappa (Allochiria)

Being an artist in Greece versus being one abroad resembles the relationship of a thumbnail to a larger image. — Nefeli Liouta (Nefeli Walking Undercover)

There are several parameters: the sex-object image and the expectations from the industry or the audience. Depending on the musical genre, the approach varies. Unfortunately many performers themselves, unintentionally accept gender stereotypes. But let’s ask Pussy Riot: what if they were male guerilla performers, even in the same socio-political context, who supported gender equality? –Katerina Papachristou (Tango With Lions)

Warpaint, HAIM, Hinds, are some examples of bands which have probably been formed by their managers to quench the missing girlpower from the contemporary music scene, not necessarily because they are fascinating musicians. Often, in our attempt to support diversity, we end up ignoring the social and/or artistic aspects.-

Daphne Lazou (Daphne and the Fuzz). Photo: Mariza Kapsambeli

Pitchfork published statistics about female participation in festivals in the summer. It was a mere 14%! To add insult to injury, you won’t believe some of the sexist comments below the article. -Someone Who Isn’t Me

Only when women begin to sit in front of the consoles in recording studios and in positions under the stage, real equality will be achieved in the music sector. -Anna Papathanassiou (Puta Volcano)

When we separate the bands into girl bands, boy bands, trans bands, E.T. bands, we enter into an inequality situation. We all play music. Let’s concentrate on this and not on what hangs — or does not hang — between our legs. -Sofia Sarri

Kim Gordon in “Girl In A Band” writes: “At the end of the day, women are expected to preserve the world, not annihilate it”

What would you say?

It describes the gap between a kickass woman and the female stereotype. Women should seek to be treated in the same way, not tolerate gender-stereotypical and sexist discrimination. –Katerina Papachristou (Tango With Lions)

Hm, to begin with, I do not think that women annihilate anything. -Someone Who Isn’t Me

Emilia Papatheochari (Emi Path)

We have the maternal instinct, every month we seem to be preparing for it. It’s like being aware of the fact that you will create something. Imagine funneling this power to anything else! –Emilia Papatheochari (Emi Path)

Women have skills that lead to the same solutions without a sack of tanks, punches or screams. Then it is she who will hold up what is almost ruined, without losing passion, wrath, sweat and broken chords at the end of the concert. –Nefeli Liouta (Nefeli Walking Undercover)

Women are more receptive by nature, so that is for sure. -Penny Baltatzi

We are the creative force of nature, we make it bloom wherever we step, we are food, we keep the world functioning. To achieve equality in practice, we must fight like men. -Anna Papathanassiou (Puta Volcano)

At the end of the day, we all have to do our best. We can only go ahead with the contribution of people who — regardless of their gender — question the norms and have the ability to convey the mood for change. –Daphne Lazou (Daphne and the Fuzz)

The world should stand with equal dynamics of women and men, and this should be considered self-evident. -Lamprini Grigoriadou (Million Hollers)

Perhaps annihilation is necessary to bring things upside down, to allow the world to find itself in an offbeat position. -Sofia Sarri

At the end of the day, people (not just women) are expected to preserve the world, not to annihilate it. -Irini Pappa (Allochiria)

The article above was originally published in the leading Greek digital publication Popaganda.

If you enjoyed this article, feel free to hit that 👏 button to help others find it!

Don’t forget to like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and Instagram, and subscribe to our YouTube channel.

If you have any corrections, ideas, or even profanities to share, feel free to email us info@athenslive.gr

--

--

Eleni Tzannatou
AthensLive

Journalist, spending her life between the chaos of sound and the chaos of words and everything that lays between them.