Joining Atipica as COO: People Intelligence for Today’s Workforce

Deldelp Medina
Atipica
Published in
3 min readSep 30, 2019

When Laura Gómez, CEO, and Founder of Atipica, called me to let me know about her diagnosis, I was shocked. Shocked into silence. If you have ever met Laura you know she is dynamic, thoughtful, and full of energy. Her medical reality felt like it came out of nowhere. I stopped listening trying to process the news that could put her in peril.

“Could you come in and help with Atipica while I am out for my surgery and recovery?” It took her repeating her ask three times before I snapped out of it. I answered yes right away.

When Laura first shared her vision for Atipica almost 5 years ago, I honestly didn’t understand it. I couldn’t understand how using data science, machine learning, and natural language processing could impact hiring outcomes with regard to diversity, equity, and inclusion.

However, I deeply understood the problem Laura sought to solve. We are in the middle of one of the biggest demographic changes in the United States. The average workforce is more diverse today than even just 5 years ago. The consequences of not thinking about how work needs to adapt to the incoming talent will be painful for big, small, and rapidly growing companies. At the time, I didn’t understand how she could create tools for folks in Talent Acquisition, Recruiting, and HR that would allow them to have actionable data points to invest in this work.

Laura has achieved what she set out to accomplish five years ago. She has built the Atipica product suite with ethical data science at the center, leveraging all our industry knowledge about machine learning and AI. The result? A comprehensive product that allows companies to automate fragmented reporting, share insights on talent acquisition and DEI, and measure the impact of investments they make.

In my time working with the Atipica team over the last couple of months, I fell in love with the product and the team.

People Intelligence for Today’s Workforce

Meanwhile, I have been toggling between Black and Brown Founders, Atipica, and my other responsibilities. In the process, I have gotten to know the incredible Atipica team. Folks who are thoughtful, engaging, and dedicated to building a solid product. When Laura asked me to join as COO at the end of the summer, I said yes.

I said yes because the look on folks faces when they see Atipica’s solution is priceless. Key stakeholders in talent acquisition conversations have data about the stages in their hiring process with our one-click shareable reports. The conversation goes beyond how individuals are hired to how companies are treating all of their candidates.

So now what? I want to get Atipica in front of every CEO, Head of People, and Talent Acquisition professional that wants to hire in today’s changing workforce. We are working every day at Atipica to make this a reality.

We know data drives action. We work with clients to get the strategic guidance their leadership needs to invest in diverse teams. Through data visualizations, we automate fragmented reporting and provide insights for talent acquisition and D&I teams. We give companies the power to understand where their talent investments have the greatest impact.

And of course, I will continue to support underrepresented founders to thrive and build technology in my role as special advisor to Black and Brown Founders. My core mission is to support leaders who are historically underrepresented in technology with the staff, resources, and financial investment they need to build impactful companies.

Over the next couple of months, expect to continue to hear about Atipica’s team, our first in class people intelligence product, and the resounding impact we have had on our customers and our technology ecosystem.

--

--

Deldelp Medina
Atipica

#HustleHouse -Underestimated Founder Supporter #SanFrancisco & #Barranquillera My words are my own