Fresh Faces

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
6 min readSep 26, 2022

by Michael Kurth

The beginning of the 2022/23 Atlanta Symphony Orchestra season arrives with plenty of fresh faces: six young musicians are joining our ranks this fall — quite a large number. Some of them might already seem familiar, having joined us before as substitute players. In fact, some have come up through the Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra or Talent Development Program and studied with ASO musicians. Now, former students have become peers, and proud teachers sit on stage with talented professionals they once mentored. Let’s meet this year’s new musicians.

Eun Young Jung, Second Violin

Her journey here: Born in Korea, Eun Young began playing violin at age 9. “I still have my diary from when I was 10, and in it I said that I want to become a concert violinist and a music teacher.” She moved to the states to get her master’s at Yale, and she has previously played with orchestras in Nashville and Miami.
Atlanta connection: Her husband was born in Atlanta, and their new home in Decatur is minutes away from the hospital where he was born!
If it’s not classical: She loves 1950s jazz and bossa nova. Her favorite artists include Chet Baker, Judy Garland, João Gilberto and Korean jazz artist Lee Jin-ah.
Childhood dream job: “A zookeeper! I would love to be an animal whisperer.” In fact, if she could possess one superpower, “I would say Dr. Doolittle’s ability to communicate with animals. I have two cats, Basil and Bori, who always fight with each other. I want to talk them through getting along with each other.”
Fear factor: “I had a near-death experience when I was four. I had an accident where a car drove over me. Luckily there was a tree right next to me and the broken branches made space between the bottom of the car and the ground, so it did not hurt a hair on my head.”
Frivolous purchase: If she won the lottery, she’d splurge on “a brick oven, an e-bike, a walk-in fridge and unlimited Chick-fil-A sauce.”

Yaxin Tan, Second Violin

Her journey here: Born in China, she received her bachelor’s degree at Shanghai Conservatory, then her master’s at USC.
Atlanta connection: In 2017, she played under Robert Spano at the Aspen Music Festival.
Favorite restaurant: Bestia, an Italian spot in L.A.
Childhood dream job: Lawyer
Fear factor: The scariest thing she’s ever done? “Holding a giant crab!” Frivolous purchase: “A device that dries hair instantly.”
If she could have one superpower: “The ability to make objects larger
or smaller.”

Peter Garrett, Cello

His journey here: A native of Bloomington, Illinois, he is the son of a cellist and clarinetist and started cello lessons with his mother at age 6. He has degrees from the University of Michigan and Rice University. He just finished his seventh season with the Alabama Symphony Orchestra and has also played with the Houston and Nashville Symphony Orchestras.
Atlanta connection: “I’ve played with the ASO on a few occasions, and I get most of my cello repair work done here.”
If it’s not classical: “The Beatles, Queen, the Punch Brothers, Snarky Puppy, Anna Meredith and Anderson .Paak.”
In his time off: “Playing chamber music, arranging and composing, cycling and homebrewing craft beer.”
Favorite restaurant: “I recently discovered ‘HopStix’ in Chamblee, and I’m always happy to have a poke bowl from Dua in midtown Atlanta.” Childhood dream job: “When I was 6 years old, I was obsessed with the Beatles and wanted to be a rock guitarist.”

Denielle Wilson, Cello

Her journey here: Bachelor’s degree at Northwestern, then master’s at the Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music and a diversity fellowship with the Cincinnati Orchestra. She just finished her first season as an acting section cellist in the Charlotte Symphony Orchestra.
Atlanta connection: Denielle was born and raised in Lithonia, Georgia. She is an alum of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Talent Development Program, where she studied with ASO cellist Joel Dallow for five years.
If it’s not classical: “I’ve been getting into the music of Omar Khorshid. He is an Egyptian guitarist that a friend introduced me to recently.”
In her time off: She plays in a piano trio with her siblings, Dana and Cliff Jr.
Favorite cuisine: “Trinidadian food — my father is from Tobago.”
Childhood dream job: “I remember wanting to be a nurse like my mom. I think a couple years later I wanted to be a scientist. Then I started playing the cello…”
Fear factor: “I don’t think I can think of anything scarier than auditioning, but whitewater rafting was slightly terrifying.”
Frivolous purchase: “A luxury RV. I like road trips, so why not make them fancy?”

Nicholas Scholefield, Bass

His journey here: Nick joins the mighty ASO bass section after a couple of seasons with the Alabama Symphony. His studies were at Indiana University and Kennesaw State.
Atlanta connection: “I was born and raised in Kennesaw, graduated from Allatoona High School in Acworth and attended Kennesaw State University for two years. As a member of the Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra, I studied with two ASO musicians, Doug Sommer and Joe McFadden.”
The ASO should play: Schoenberg’s Chamber Symphony №1
If it’s not classical: “I really enjoy listening to jazz. I particularly like more avant-garde and free jazz.”
Favorite cuisine: “I enjoy a lot of different kinds of food but I particularly enjoy Indian cuisine.”
Alternative dream job: “Probably a travel writer, not that I’m great at writing, but I’d do it for the traveling.”
Frivolous purchase: “If I won the lottery, I’d probably spend it on some nice international vacations or on a house somewhere tropical.”
Superpower: “Certainly possessing some kind of infinite wisdom would be nice.”

William Cooper, Trumpet

His journey here: William got his undergrad and graduate degrees from Northwestern, and previously played with the Orlando Philharmonic and the Malaysian Philharmonic. He’s also toured with a Broadway show and played at Walt Disney World!
Atlanta connection: A Georgia native, William was a member of the Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra and studied with the ASO’s Mike Tiscione.
The ASO should play: Wynton Marsalis’ Swing Symphony
If it’s not classical: “I really enjoy listening to progressive bluegrass — Nickel Creek, Punch Brothers — and anything with a funk groove — Tower of Power, Michael Jackson’s Off the Wall, Daft Punk’s Random Access Memories.” Favorite cuisine: “Nashville hot chicken.”
Fear factor: “Nashville hot chicken.”
Childhood dream job: “I wanted to be an astronomer because outer space is super cool.”
Frivolous purchase: “Designing, building and owning my own golf course.” Superpower: “The ability to understand and speak any language instantly.”

--

--

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

A creative and innovative orchestra in Atlanta, Georgia | #lovemyASO