Women in the World Dallas: Insightful. Raw. Real.

Jana Rumbaugh Boone
Atlas
Published in
4 min readDec 8, 2017

An evening of inspiration from women really making a difference

I think I suck

Let me start by saying I feel inadequate. And it’s not like I’m a lazy person. But, I have to tell you, after attending last night’s Women in the World event at The Dallas Museum of Art, I left feeling like I needed to step it up a notch. I mean where else can you hear from the daughter of famed Texas Governor Ann Richards and a woman who was held captive in a Georgia hotel for almost five years all in the same evening? The women that spoke as a part of the event are all truly changing the world. In so many different ways. With so many different passions, talents, efforts, and stories of survival. The span was broad, but the connection was all common. All were women. And all were doing something to leave a mark on the world. Politics. Military. Sports. Poetry. Rescue efforts. Enabling connections. Whatever it was, they were doing it. And boy were they doing it. Got me thinking, what am I doing?

The Year of the Woman

Everyone knows that this has been a huge year for women. And women’s rights are a constant topic of discussion (think about all of the women’s marches, the #metoo social campaign, etc.). I will admit, I could have done without all of the political hubbub and “girl power” rah rah last night, but what I did really appreciate and take away from the evening was the fact that women all around the world are refusing to accept the unacceptable. Women are seeking out solutions to challenges and finding ways to accomplish the unaccomplishable. One speaker even noted, “The major difference between people that accomplish their dreams and those that don’t is persistence and perseverance.” Good thing woman are known for being persistent (or wait, maybe that’s just me). Any way you slice it, it’s pretty remarkable what these women (and millions of others whose stories I haven’t had the privilege of hearing yet) are doing.

Imagine being the first female fighter pilot in the marines. Imagine creating an underground network that helps people escape from North Korea. Imagine…imagine…imagine. Right now, all I can imagine is what to make for dinner. These women imagined things that no one had done before. Crazy, huge, world-changing things. And then they went and did it. And strangely, almost all of the women featured last night were doing these crazy amazing things in worlds (or industries) where men are (and always have been) predominant. But one woman shared a thought from the panel that helped put this all into perspective…at least for me. Nowhere in any books or manuals or job descriptions does it say that any of the “jobs” these women are doing are a male’s job. Nowhere does it say that women can’t or shouldn’t do any of the things that they were doing. The message was clear: whatever the job, do it and do it well. Just get it done. And find a way to make a difference along the way. It’s not about the job, but about who does whatever it is the best. Bring it on.

The Band of Women

Possibly, and most probably, my most favorite thing from the evening was the dialogue about women and their constant and unwavering support for other women, even women we might not know yet or may never know. This was a repeatable commonality that was present among all of the speakers and sessions. I mean, isn’t that really why we were all there to begin with? To show our support for women and to connect with other women about real topics and challenges and hurdles that we are all facing? I think so.

“When doors are opened for you as a woman, turn around and pull other women through it with you,” said Maxeme Tuchman, the CEO and Co-Founder of Caribu, a technology company that allows people to share story time with children when in a different location (kind of FaceTime meets Kindle). This concept that she shared really rang true for me. I think about my colleagues, my neighbors, my “mom friends,” and I think about the support system or systems that we have created to encourage each other, empower each other, and basically just help each other do life. Take that same concept and apply it to the work place or any other type of career environment, and the outcomes could be overwhelming. If more women felt empowered...if more women were given the opportunity to lead...to succeed, AND if more women USED their passions and talents, instead of just assuming that it wouldn’t benefit anyone, I bet we would all be even more amazed with our gender than we already are.

Let’s Go Forward Together

As I mentioned before, much of the evening was about women running for office and getting into places of power to help change the trajectory of a nation in crisis. But amid the discussion of politics, harassment, and double standards, I heard stories that changed my perspective on life. I heard stories of women finding a way to leave a mark. I heard stories of women, normal (and truly amazing) women, making an impact and changing the world for the better. I felt empowered and inspired by these women. The voices that they have created for themselves and what they are bringing to the world was uplifting and compelling. Each had a unique story and each has done the impossible. I know I can’t stop thinking about what I could do to leave my mark on the world. Food for thought… How do you want to be remembered? How will you leave your mark?

--

--