5 Free Website Organizers

Stop organizing your sites on docs, task apps or bookmarks

Carla Shield
Atomic Planning
Published in
3 min readFeb 5, 2024

--

Are you a person who constantly saves information from the Internet, websites, documents, images…? If so, where do you keep all this stuff?

In the beginning, when I had no idea of anything, I kept my saves on Google Docs, a task app or bookmarks on Chrome organized into different and labelled folders. It worked but honestly: it was a mess, so I started looking for tools that could help me have all these items organized.

In this article I would love to present the 5 TOP and FREE tools I use to organize my digital sites and documents:

  1. Pocket
  2. Diigo
  3. Symbaloo
  4. Raindrop.io
  5. Wakelet

1. POCKET

This is a very simple and manageable app to save and label websites, it is intuitive and basic in its features.

You can have the app on your phone, the desktop tool and the Chrome extension for a quick save.

  • I use it to save sporadic and soon-to-read articles.
Pocket Logo

2. Diigo

Frankly, I have never used this tool because I recently discovered it. However, I have watched some tutorials on it and it really looks amazing!

Although not all Android versions can download the app, it has a desktop and Chrome extension use.

  • You can, not only save your sites but also underline important quotes and keep them public or private.
Diigo Logo

3. Symbaloo

Probably it is one of the most well-known site savers, or is it just me that I know many people using it?

It has all the versions: app, desktop and extension.

  • You can create as many boards as you want and visualize all the websites you have saved.

I like its structure, but it started to saturate my vision and lowered the minimalism I was looking for.

Symbaloo Logo

4. Raindrop.io

So I discovered Raindrop.io and I fell in love!

Also, it gives you the ‘complete access’: app + desktop + extension.

It follows the minimalist standards I enjoy the most: a simple vision of the sites, colour code and the possibility to add an icon to represent the list.

  • I use it to keep all my sites: articles, personal stuff, educational websites to use in class, important reference sites, etc.
Raindrop.io Logo

5. Wakelet

Finally, I wanted to add Wakelet, which also has the function to keep sites and documents organized but I would say it has a much more simple interface and visualization of the content you add.

Providing also the 3 tech versions, I like the fact that you can create collections and make them private or public and personalize the cover image of each collection.

  • I use this tool to create website collections to share with other teachers or maybe the students themselves with useful resources.

Teacher Carla’s Wakelet — you can have a look at my profile.

Wakelet Logo

I did not want to overextend myself explaining the complete characteristics of the tools as I think you can search them on the internet, but to provide instead their link and a bit of exposure on how I use them.

I hope that helped and convinced some of you to use them!

--

--

Carla Shield
Atomic Planning

ESL teacher • education • material creator • reader • Catalan culture • productivity • dog mum • Marilynette♡ https://linktr.ee/carlysh_t