Martha Stewart and Snoop Dogg at the Olympics

Who cares?

Over-50 Empress
Atomic Posts
2 min readAug 5, 2024

--

An 83-year-old white woman sitting next to a black male rapper
I made this image using AI at Canva.com.

Have you been watching the 2024 Olympics in Paris? Did you catch the segment with Martha Stewart and Snoop Dogg?

God forbid if there are more.

I don’t know if their friendship is real or manufactured, and I don’t care. Martha is an 83-year-old home and hospitality expert. Snoop is a 52-year-old weed-smoking rapper. What does that have to do with athletes? Nothing.

There are so many other kinds of segments the Olympics could have done. For example, how about swimmer Michael Phelps discussing how he deals with his mental health issues, figure skater Scott Hamilton discussing surviving cancer or gymnast Kerri Strug, who fought through incredible pain to nail her landing after completing her vault?

I like Snoop’s music, and I like many of Martha’s recipes, but I don’t associate them with the Olympics at all. For Los Angeles 2028, please stick to athletes.

Thanks for reading! I’ve made this article free, but like most here at Medium, the rest of my articles are behind the Medium paywall. You can read as much as you want as a Medium member (whether it’s my articles or any article) without any ads or limits. You can also support great writers and join a community of people around the world who care about good stories. It’s only $5 a month! (That’s less than a Venti White Chocolate Mocha at Starbucks.) Join Now!

--

--

Over-50 Empress
Atomic Posts

An over-50 empress is self-aware, fearless, kind to herself, unbothered by others' opinions, and goes after what she wants. So straighten your crown!