5 pleasures that will improve your day

Feel free to steal them

Mary R.
Atomic Public
3 min readMay 5, 2024

--

Photo by Abbat on Unsplash

Sometimes, we wake up feeling tense and irritable. And things can go downhill from there — we might miss our bus, get stuck in traffic, or arrive late for a meeting. On those days, the saying “when it rains, it pours” seems particularly apt!

These are some pleasurable hacks I use to improve such a day.

A sound of nature

I can never forget the sound of running water down a cliff. That sound never loses its power to trigger joy and happiness in me.

Listening to the sound of the birds, the wind, and the earth waking up is the best feeling you can get. There is a calmness it brings with it that just lets you know everything will be okay.

If you can listen to the sound of nature in the mornings and inhale its rich scent, you can be sure that your day is peace and joy.

Listening to music

Music is a tonic for the soul. And the right music can improve your day quickly.

You need to know the genre of music required. What type of music do you favor? I know the music I need when I am having an overwhelming day or when I want to be fired up to act.

Just make sure you pick the right music. Music will always show up for you.

Sharing genuine time with loved ones

I love my privacy and my thoughts. I love silence because it helps my creativity.

However, when things are not going my way, I get up, step out of my comfort zone, and spend quality time with a friend or loved one.

Listening and sharing with someone you love can be so uplifting. You can take it for granted, but not everyone has this blessing. And an honest talk can be just the fresh perspective you need.

Exercising

I recently suffered from lower back pain.

I had to undergo months of physio to relieve the pain and allow me to move well. I am not a fan of exercising, but I discovered on the days I exercise in the morning, I always go around with a spring in my feet and lightness in my heart.

I am sure you know that exercising releases a happy hormone. It’s a free pleasure you can use to improve your day.

Giving

There is a feeling attached to giving.

You can fake a laugh or a smile, but when you give to someone in need, you get this feeling that humbles you. Being generous feels good. There is a primal pleasure that an act of sacrifice produces in you.

So when next you are looking for something to lift you, be generous and receive twofold pleasure, the gratitude from the receiver and the joy in your soul.

Thanks for reading!

If you want to read my next stories, follow my Medium account.

--

--

Mary R.
Atomic Public

Helping women over 45 years achieve fulfilment in life by providing them with relevant info and tips. https://www.facebook.com/workingwomenspot?mibextid=ZbWKwL