Hello From the Other Side

Mary R.
Atomic Public
Published in
2 min readJun 6, 2024

A goodbye letter from the grave

Photo by juan pablo rodriguez on Unsplash

My darling May,

If you have this letter it means that my time is up, and I never got to tell you goodbye.

Don’t be sad. I did not want you to spend our last moments grieving, so I chose not to tell you about the illness.

Be strong for yourself and the children.

I watch you every time we are together, how happy you are, how committed and loving. And the sacrifice you make every day, I don’t take it lightly that you chose to love me an orphan with no money and all the dreams in the world.

I was a broken soul, yet you kindled the light and joined me on my journey. Thank you, May. For the children. For my life. You made it beautiful.

Photo by Michael Kroul on Unsplash

You need not be ashamed or upset to learn that I took it upon myself to reach out to Stanley. I hope he has finally reunited with you.

I knew about your feelings for each other but was too selfish to release you.

If Stanley has not found the courage to forgive himself for loving a married woman and come to you, you go to him. You have my blessing. You both deserve to be happy. And he promised me he’ll make you happy. It’s a promise he must keep.

I am happy. Your love made this possible.

May, life moves swiftly, so make the best of each moment. I want you to be as happy as you made me. You owe it to yourself.

Just know that I love you forever.

Tony.

--

--

Mary R.
Atomic Public

Helping women over 45 years achieve fulfilment in life by providing them with relevant info and tips. https://www.facebook.com/workingwomenspot?mibextid=ZbWKwL