Meetings without the Seniors

Nanami Uchiyama
Atrae Culture Blog
Published in
3 min readOct 18, 2018

This post was originally written in Japanese by our member, Sugiyama.

It’s been 2 years since I’ve started in Atrae, so I thought maybe I should share some of the things I’ve been thinking since then.

“I’m basically lazy”

I am a member of the marketing team in Green. I’ve been working with Ihata san, the leader of the team, for about 2 years now.

He, of course, has a very different perspective and in times, it’s very broad, in other times it’s in a very high level, and also deep in a different way. So, I would discuss and ask for help to Ihata san both individually or in meetings in order to get my work done.

When Ihata san is here in the meetings, I feel very comfortable. This is probably because I can concentrate on thinking of good ideas or productive solutions, since he would summarize the ideas and move on to the next step.

However, at times, Ihata san would be absent from meetings. When he is absent, I have a feeling that the meetings will not be as productive as the meetings we would have with him.

This makes me hesitant to make decisions in the meetings. As you can see, I’m probably too lazy to be or try to be productive in the meetings.

What is this “laziness”

The root of this laziness within me is probably because I was not thinking about the reason of the work I was doing.

I think that people with the level of laziness like me, could probably just use up all the time doing whatever, do the work that they were told to do, or do it for the compliment they get by doing the work, all without thinking of a good reason.

Looking back on myself, I realized that, although I can say that the work I’m doing is for the vision the company has, the daily tasks are just tasks that I do without thinking. It’s easy to understand the reason why I become lazy in meetings without the seniors.

Thinking of a good way to overcome this laziness

Since I was able to realize the situation, the way to overcome this is not that difficult. I started to refer to the reason why I’m working once in a while.

The reason I work is to provide something I believe is worth as much as possible to the world.

If so, I would have to work harder and always aim to produce something better than usual even in times when the seniors are not at the meetings. If I become lazy in those meetings, I wouldn’t be able to provide. And if I can’t do so through one meeting, I would never be able to provide something I believe is worth to the world, never. In order to realize my vision, my reason to work, I really do have to challenge myself to produce something better than usual in those meetings.

Overcoming the laziness

Since I started to refer to my vision once in a while, even in meetings without the seniors, or even any situation where I don’t have any backup or support, I can think on my own and move towards the next step. I’m basically very lazy and I’m not very good at “putting effort”. So, what I had been doing to overcome my laziness is to control my motivation and emotion through looking back at myself and understanding my core values or roots. I think that this is a good way for people who would rather think than just put effort.

Hope this helps!

--

--