72 Pin Soup

Matt Hawkins
Attract Mode
Published in
6 min readOct 18, 2018

Above is my new pride and joy, a recently acquired New 3DS that’s been adorned with a Kyary Pamyu Pamyu finish. Though, I gotta admit, even more stylish is Toby Jones’s cover plates, which perfectly matches his shorts…

Now because I skipped last Friday’s (somewhat) regularly scheduled Instagram round up (which I should maybe think about doing bi-weekly, since the weekly schedule has a bit rough) to highlight the man who designed the Famicom and NES’s recent visit to NYU, figure I may as well stick with hardware.

And here’s something I came across at the Philly Non-Sports Card Show, which took place at the Merchants Square Mall, and can be best described as Akihabara’s cousin who resides in Allentown, PA (was there taking care of business related to my associate producer role for an upcoming documentary on the 30th anniversary of Garbage Pail Kids, which I don’t think I’ve ever revealed publicly, till now); two custom painted Nintendos, literally under a pile of old Game Boy games…

Speaking of Japan, one of these days I’m going to make it out to METEOR. I just love how cute and coz their set up is; via masskutt

So juliusviloria858 recently got himself an Analogue Nt, which is the NES in an ultra high end (and ultra expensive) modern day housing. Have never been a fan of the regular silver variant, but must admit that the Famicom variant looks kinda nice…

Though I’d much rather have his Sharp C1, which is a TV with a built in Famicom…

Those controller as simply too sexy…

juliusviloria858’s collection is beyond impressive. He even has a Famicom Titler, another Nintendo/Sharp collab. It was designed specifically to create gameplay videos, with added subtitle functionality, though most collectors want it cuz it’s the only consumer variant of the Fami that has S-Video & RGB output…

A & C Games, like most game stores, accepts trade ins. They’re also Canadian, who are notoriously way too friendly, hence why they actually took this in (or I’m assuming that’s the story here)…

Zack Kotzer recently ran into Satoshi Nakamura, who among other things, invented a portable Atari made out of cardboard…

According to Lucifer Von Hell, the best way to clean the 72 pin connector in an NES (which is the thing that accepts a cartridge, and is prone to getting dirty, hence why people have to blow in their carts to get games going, which actually makes the matter worse in some cases) is to boil it in hot water…

Skot Deeming watches on as someone disassembles one of those Pac-Man TV games, I’m assuming for parts. I actually own that exact one; when I showed it to one of my Hori Real Arcade Pro lovin’ pals and he just laughed and laughed, though I still thought it was neat…

Speaking of arcade sticks, retrokk_jp here is showing of his RoydsStick.EX, which allows for interchangeable buttons, depending on what works best on whatever PSone game…

Meanwhile, Lucifer Von Hell has a pair of XE-1s, for the PC Engine and Mega Drive, which also allows for a fair amount of customization…

Pat says this is the best stick art. I’m inclined to agree…

A look at men_gunners’s arcade at home (Xbox Live Arcade at home to be exact) set up…

I’ve showcased Robert S Dunn’s handiwork in the past already, and unfortunately I just cannot afford his absolutely stunning miniaturized Astro City. Though I have a feeling that his customized arcade stick with similar accents might be a bit more agreeable to my budget…

You’re obligatory interior shot of a real deal arcade in Japan, courtesy of Jake Kazdal

Though arcades in the US can be just as pretty as well; here we have a really nice pic of Funspot by the Arcade Hunters

Meanwhile, back at home, retrokk_jp has a problem that many of us have, at least those of us who try to have everything hooked up to the same TV…

As for myself, I have everything inside Ikea shelving. They sell this one book shelf that accommodates most systems, but not all, as Lucifer Von Hell demonstrates…

sixteenbit back again to show us what a beautiful tower of power the Mega Drive can be…

I’ve already showcased the Game Boy Advance with the Super Famicom paint job, but have I ever shown of the IRL Game Boy Horror before? Courtesy of Jake Smith

And here’s a very pretty DMG Game Boy, one belonging to m7kenji, alongside an app he was putting together (could be done by now; it’s sort of an old pic)…

On a somewhat similar notes, here’s Joe Bleeps showing off his Bit Boy, which is an OS free method of transferring lossless Game Boy Camera photos…

Back to Jake again, trading Pokemon the old fashioned way…

Since I live in NYC, 90% of my portal gaming is done while taking the train. Same goes for Israel, whose controlling the very same train line he’s at IRL…

One last pic from Lucifer Von Hell, who recently acquired a used PSP from a person who forgot to format the memory stick…

Originally published at blog.attractmo.de.

--

--