Alexander Human

Lilla Tsarska
AUBG 2023
Published in
2 min readNov 14, 2019

Alexander Human says his childhood dream was to be an engineer. In high-school he wanted to be a nuclear physicist. “And then I fell in love with accounting,” he says. Alexander majors in Business Administration at AUBG and plans to make a minor in History.

Changes are a part of Alexander’s life. He was born and raised in Johannesburg, South Africa for 19 years. He says his father decided to move to Bulgaria due to political reasons and so that Alexander could further his education here. “My mum is Bulgarian-born and my dad is Zimbabwean-born,” Alexander says. His parents currently reside in Plovdiv, where, according to Alexander’s, the 2017 World Fencing Championships were held.

Alexander, 19 years old, says he started fencing when he was about eight years old. “I went to school and I started training there. Then I trained there for about 11 years.” He says he has achieved his national colors in fencing and fenced for South Africa in the African and World Championships, as well as in the Commonwealth Games.

“I have set my own physical goals. I want to, by the time I’m 22, run my first ever marathon,” Alexander says. He says marathons are usually 43 kilometers long. “David Goggins is a Navy SEAL. He competes in ultra-marathons, which is running extremely far distances like 200–300 kilometers. He is a real inspiration”.

Alexander finds people amusing. “I think people are really nifty or really cool.” He says he is the type of person that observes people. Alexander says before coming to AUBG he was afraid of what the people would be like. He says he feels good among other people. “You find a sort of social hierarchy and social pecking order, so I felt I could easily slot myself into that.”

Alexander says he likes people that warm up the day and are fun to be around. “I’m not looking for a lot. Just that you’re a good person at nature. I just want you to be the human being that you were meant to be.” He wants to find a good balance between studying and being social. “Maybe just learning of people isn’t what I’m trying to do so far.”

Alexander says that what he is today, he owes to himself, as an introverted person. He says his best traits are perseverance and toughness. Alexander says he wants to change his attitude towards failing. “It holds me back from what I can truly be.”

###

Lilia Tsarska a second-year student at AUBG, studying Journalism and Mass Communications. She seeks inspiration in other people.

--

--

Lilla Tsarska
AUBG 2023

Dancer. Student at the American University in Bulgaria.