Freshfile | Anastasiia Buzduga

Viktor Kharyton
AUBG 2023
Published in
2 min readNov 14, 2019

Anastasiia Buzduga says one day she is going to be in Forbes and laughs. Her big dream is to have her own corporation and that is why she chose a business major at AUBG.

“My dad always told me, ‘You can work for someone just to get experience, but then do your own thing.’ I always thought that it is really smart and mature, and that’s what I want to do.”

Anastasiia Buzduga | Photographed by Viktor Kharyton

Nastya, as her friends call her, is one of the Ukrainian students, who enrolled in AUBG this fall. She has already been to the United States in 2017 as a Future Leaders Exchange Program (FLEX) student, and American education became an obvious choice for her. “I wanted to go to an American university. I was not probably ready to go so far, across the ocean, for at least four years,” she explains.

However, her relations with the States are obviously not over yet. Nastya just signed her Work and Travel program contract. She considers it not only as an opportunity to cover her tuition.

“It would be nice to see how different kinds of businesses work, how restaurant business or hotel work from the chores.”

Experience is not the only benefit of spending a summer in the US. In Texas, where a small village became Anastasia’s second home, there is a host-family waiting for her visit. “Whenever people used to tell me about FLEX and everything about their host-families, I did not believe that some random people can become so close. But honestly, today, I would not trade my host-family for anything.” Nastya says that it is going to be a surprise for them that she is coming again this summer.

In her daily life, Nastya likes to start the day in the same way and to have an everyday plan. “I am actually pretty conservative about that, so I have to wake up, to go wash my face, and then I have to eat the oats every morning. It has all to be with nuts and all kinds of seeds.”

Not only breakfast can be described in detail, as Anastasiia says she is a gourmet. Nastya thinks that she can someday apply this with her business skills. “I love food. It makes me happy. Why do not I make people happy?” she smiles, “So, the restaurant business does not sound like a joke to me anymore.”

###

Viktor Kharyton studies Journalism and Politics at the American Unversity in Bulgaria. He likes asking people questions and hearing cool answers.

--

--

Viktor Kharyton
AUBG 2023

Just student. Just notes. Just stories to share.