Radina Terziyska

Mirela Harizanova
AUBG 2023
2 min readNov 14, 2019

--

I n 2017, the Blagoevgrad freshman Radina Terziyska spent her weekends with friends in nearby cities without her parent’s knowledge. The 19-year old simply loves travelling, and if she had a day off today, she would do either that, or sleep.

Radina isn’t lazy, though. She is a person who likes to keep busy and enjoys engaging in different activities. “The problem is that I like many things. Pretty much everything I get into, I like, besides Calculus,” she says, chuckling. She is currently studying economics at the American University in Bulgaria and is part of the university’s Broadway Club. She has an interest in European studies as well, and is even planning to experiment with Journalism and Mass Communications someday soon. Before coming to AUBG, she has taken part in speech and debate competitions, Model European Union, and has volunteered at the Bulgarian Red Cross.

Radina seems to have found her true calling — doing whatever she can to improve her society. She imagines herself possibly working for an NGO. “I for sure know that I won’t be able to do something that I don’t like,” she says. Money doesn’t matter much to her. What is really important to Radina is that her work has a positive impact on Bulgaria.

One of the changes she would want to see in Bulgarian society is more positivity. “I feel like a lot of people are very negative,” she says. “And if something gets better, I feel like people are gonna notice.” She believes that making even a relatively small change in oneself, for example becoming more educated, can be enough to lead to improvements not only in oneself, but in one’s society as well.

Radina may not have any concrete plans for her future - neither in an academic, nor in a career aspect - but that doesn’t mean she has no goals at all. The young woman is trying to do sports, eat healthier, make connections with others, and actively participate in her classes in order to truly learn something from them. “All I know is that, right now, I’m just trying to better myself in any kind of way I want.”

###

Mirela Harizanova is a sophomore, majoring in JMC and minoring in POS and Spanish. She thought university would be easy when she was a freshman, but less than three semesters later she is ready to graduate.

--

--