Lina Chakarova

Yoan Bondakov
AUBG Class of 2022
Published in
3 min readMar 12, 2019
Photo taken by Yoan Bondakov

Lina Chakarova is 19 years old and from Burgas. She is a freshman at AUBG and is planning on majoring in Journalism and Mass Communication (JMC).

If you ever see the staff in the AUBG cafeteria being annoyed by filling a reusable cup with coffee, then you can be sure that Lina is first in line. It’s her cup and it represents her caring persona that is deeply involved in helping both the nature and the people as Lina often participates in cleaning campaigns and is an active member of the Better Community Club at AUBG.

Lina considers herself as a creative person who does not mind the chaotic aspect of her everyday life. “I live in chaos and I love it, it makes sense and I see order in it. Even my room is in chaos but I still find everything. Some people might say I live up to the stereotype of the chaotic and creative person,” she says.

A testimony of her high energy and exploratory character are the many hobbies she is engaged with. From mainstream activities such as reading, drawing, and yoga to more niche interest such as sewing and cosplay, Lina shares that it is her talent in expressing herself through some of those hobbies that makes her and the people around her happy. “I would say I have a talent in drawing and writing because people liked and felt touched by the things I showed them. That’s why I would say I have a talent in expressing myself,”she says.

Lina does not have particular role models but follows a specific set of characteristics that she values in people. A big inspiration in her life as an artist and person is the magical world of Harry Potter. “Maybe Rowling’s world had an effect on my imagination which on its own was already very wild,” she says. With a smile on her face, she also cherishes the fun moments with her grandad who had a big influence on her. “I had really interesting connection with my grandad. We loved riding bikes, fishing, crafting different things in his workshop. Just things like that connected us. We even got drunk with vodka,”she says.

When put into the context of AUBG Lina’s outlook on life and positivity may be cynically disregarded as naive and freshman-like, but this could not be further from the truth. “It’s not just the freshman syndrome, I am a positive person in general. I’m pretty sure that when I am a senior and I have to do my projects I will be still the same.” Her philosophy on life seems to be simple, yet wise. According to her, “Life is both amazing and horrible so why should I focus on the horrible things when you can enjoy the good moments?”

_ _ _

Yoan Bondakov is an AUBG student majoring in JMC. He loves writing and animals.

--

--