Mihail Aleksov

Sophie Munford
AUBG Class of 2022
Published in
2 min readMar 12, 2019

“With music, I had this idea that I should make some changes and it’s the same idea with politics, so I didn’t really change my goal, I just change the way I do things. My goal is to provoke some change for the good.”

Mihail Aleksov; Photographed by Sophia Roman

Mihail Aleksov is a 19 (soon to be 20) year old freshman from Sofia, Bulgaria. He demonstrates caring qualities towards his friends and others, by taking action to help people in need or even the fact he adapts his name to every person he meets.

He also has a keen sense of adventure and trying new things and experiences, including his many travels and broad interest in his studies.

That’s why AUBG, a college recommended by his aunt, seems like a great place to be as it allows him to adapt his major to his current interests. “I go through so many changes in my life! he said while explaining that when first applying to AUBG he wanted a self-designed major in Musical Business, but now he’s more interested in Business Finance and Economics. This in no way changed his long-term goals, to provoke a positive change.

Before coming to AUBG, Mihail, who plays guitar and ukulele, was part of a band in Sofia. As a young child he was never interested in music and would rather run around and play rough in the village he grew up in. But after a tragic event involving the death of a very close friend, after she got struct by lightning on a rainy day while climbing over the fence of an abandoned train station, Mihail found music as an outlet for his emotions. Sadly, he can’t help but feel guilty as he was the one who proposed to go to that location, but thanks to music and being able to express his creative-self Mihail seeks to help the world with communication.

“I like communicating, that’s what I want. And that’s how we deal with problems.”

His interest in Politics has led him to think “with this mindset, I would like to have a job in UN, EU or NATO.”

Mihail Aleksov; Photographed by Sophia Roman

Already a loyal costumer to Wizz Air, a job like this would perfectly combine his passions, also stating that while at AUBG he’d like to participate in an exchange program and study somewhere exotic.

_

Sophia Roman Munford is a JMC major who wishes to work in either radio or creative writing in the future.

--

--