Petar Hristakiev

Божана Маринова
AUBG Class of 2022
Published in
2 min readNov 20, 2018
Photo credits: Bozhana Marinova

Petar Hristakiev is a 19-year-old first-year student from Ruse. He says he loves his city very much but dreams of living in New York one day.

“I have always wanted to live in New York perhaps because it offers more opportunities and the city inspires me in general. I believe that with luck and hard work I can succeed there,” Petar says.

Both of Peter’s parents work in the business. He has an elder sister who studies in Varna. Petar also has a dog — Joe, whom he loves very much and calls Joeraffi.

“I wanted his name to be Raffi, but he was already named when we got him, so I just added it in the end,” Peter says.

Petar is an artistic person who thinks very practically. He says he wants to major in Business Administration. Petar says he is familiar with some of the material since he comes from an Economic High School, and enjoys it. He is also considering making a major in Informatics. Petar says this will add some more perspective to his career path.

But despite majoring in practically-oriented fields which promise stable finances, Petar loves drawing and acting. He says his real dream is to become an actor. Petar says he has taken part in different school plays and plans to audition for the AUBG Broadway club next year.

“I believe that you don’t actually need to study acting in order to become an actor… I think I have fair chances if I go to the States and try there after graduation. It’s quite competitive, so if it doesn’t happen, I will have a good degree in another field. But I am not a person who gives up easily, I am quite optimistic,” Petar says.

Not only is Petar optimistic about his professional development as an actor. He says he always has a positive attitude towards his future.

“My motto, if it could be said that way, is that the universe gives what you want, what you believe in. If you believe that something is not going to happen, it’s not going to happen,” says Peter.

When it comes to role models, Peter says his inspiration comes from people who create quality content and always seek for thinking out of the box.

“Even a street artist can inspire me. Everyone who pushes himself out of his comfort zone makes me push myself out of my comfort zone, and is, therefore, a model of mine,” Petar says.

--

--