Simona Mihaylova

Megi Mihaylova
AUBG Class of 2022
Published in
2 min readMar 12, 2019

Simona Mihaylova is a 20-year-old freshman in the American University in Bulgaria. She was born in Sofia, where she graduated from the American College of Sofia.

Simona is interested in Political Science and Business Administration. “My ultimate goal is to have my own business in the communications sector. I believe that my education in AUBG will help me be aware of the business trends in our country,” she says. Simona does not want to leave her home country after graduation and she will do her best to start a career here.

She considers herself a sportsperson and an adventure-seeker. Apart from being part of AUBG Olympics- the sports club of the university, she has trained ballet for 13 years. When Simona was in 4th grade, she started training in a private ballet school.

“I love to travel and explore new places. That is why I plan to go on a Work and Travel program in Martha’s Vineyard this summer. As I have been studying only in American institutions, it would be an interesting experience to meet and live among Native Americans,” Simona says.

One of her hobbies is gathering unique napkins. It has been almost 10 years since she started collecting them.

Simona has fear of heights, but she really wants to overcome it. “Last year I jumped with a parachute. Also, I had a voucher for bungee jumping, but they didn’t let me jump as I was under the needed weight. One should be at least 45 kilograms in order to jump, but my category in ballet was less than 42 kilograms,” she says. This was a big disappointment for her as bungee jumping is one of her dreams.

“If you leave, stay gone” is her favorite quote due to the fact that it is hard for her to forgive a close one, who has betrayed her.

Simona is purposeful and always strives to achieve the goals that she has set. “I want to be proud of myself and I want my family to be proud of me,” she says.

_____________________

Margarita Mihaylova is a senior student at AUBG. She is a BUS major and wants to have her own company one day.

--

--