Zheko Stoykov

Rafaela Mendes
AUBG Class of 2022
Published in
2 min readMar 12, 2019

Zheko Stoykov is a freshman at AUBG. He is 19-year-old and he is from the north of Bulgaria.

Zheko describes himself as “funny, smart, easy going and a great person to spend time with.” He is taking Business Administration and Political Science, also he wants to minor in History.

Have already visited some countries like Austria, England, Italy, Czech Republic and Romania, Zheko is a travel lover. Although the travelling his favourites hobbies are playing volleyball and computer games.

“I practiced volleyball for seven years before coming to AUBG,” he said, “I played for my hometown club and also for the school team. I was even the captain of the team.” However he never thought in have a professional volleyball career. But he would like that the university could have a volleyball team where they can compete against other universities.

Zheko has no plans for the future yet, he only knows that he really wants to go in exchange during his university route. “At the moment I can’t tell what I want to do, what I am able to do,” he said.

“I think that the biggest challenge of my life was my English skills,” he said talking about his arrival to AUBG. Also, “Getting accepted in Olympics” shows to be a challenge for him due to the fact that he could b part of the club this year.

Zhekos’ home is in the other corner of Bulgaria but he chose AUBG because, according to him, it is the best university in the country. “I considered to go to Sofia university but that was because my friends went there. But then I chose the best for me,” he said.

Always with a huge sense of humor, Zheko mentioned a lot of scales from one to 10. “Life is never perfect. It could be a bit less studying. If I don’t have to study that much, it will be good. But I really have to study,” he said. He ranked his AUBG studying experience with an eight out of 10. Lastly, Zheko affirmed that his eyes show a sense of achievement, because according to him he is in the best university of Bulgaria,“ and I am happy… 8 out of 10,” he added.

___________________________________________________________________

Rafaela Mendes is a Portuguese Erasmus student at AUBG majoring JMC.

--

--