[Interview] “The Forest Spatial Audio of Cubemint Instantly Made Me Feel Relaxed”

The Audio Metaverse, Inc. team sat down with user Saki Nakai for an exclusive tryout of the world’s first augmented audio platform.

Charlotte Blondeel
Audio Metaverse
3 min readMar 29, 2022

--

Download Cubemint here: https://apps.apple.com/tt/app/cubemint/id1575449840

Usability tests and user interviews go together with the development of an app. That’s no different for Cubemint. Previous Dabel user and university student Saki Nakai is one of the first to try out our augmented audio platform. With a coffee in one hand and our phones in the other, this is how it went down.

Saki, what was your first impression using the app?

When I opened the app I could see a map of the world and surprisingly, Cubes hovering above specific locations. I was really curious to know what they were about so I tapped on one of them to see what would happen. The environment changed and it was like I got transported to a different world!

What kind of different world?

“I could hear the crackling fire sounds of a campfire in the distance and a soft humming wind blowing around me. Above me I could hear birds chirping and the leaves of trees rustling… it really felt like I was in a forest because of the 3D effect of the audio! I was instantly relaxed.”

Check out this video to get a feel of what entering the Audio Metaverse is like.

You actually entered a forest Cube. Did you try moving around in it?

“I started swiping to see what would happen and it seemed like I was moving around. I could hear your voice and all the forest sounds changing with my movement. It felt like I was taking a walk in a forest together with you!

I also tried to move up higher in the Cube. The rustling of the leaves became stronger as I approached the top of the trees and your voice became more quiet down by the campfire.”

So definitely not your everyday walk in the forest then!

“Exactly, haha! This is without a doubt a new sensation. I’m guessing this must be really fun to experience with multiple friends as well. You can move closer to the people you want to have an actual conversation with and still keep track of the people talking and moving around you in different places in the Cube. Having these extra interactive features like the emotion deck is also fun!”

“The quality of the audio definitely left a deep impression and helped me understand how powerful spatial audio really can be when it’s applied to the metaverse.”

Are there any other features or things you would like to see happen in Cubemint?

“I’m a big anime fan so if there would be an anime Cube, or an anime event in a Cube that would be really great. I’d also love to connect with people who have the same interests in that way. Maybe I could even try and make my own Cube? That would be fun!”

Those are things we want to make happen as well!
Could you give us an overall impression of the test today?

“The quality of the audio definitely left a deep impression and helped me understand how powerful spatial audio really can be when it’s applied to the metaverse. I felt completely immersed in the Cube and relaxed by the natural sounds. I really hope I can try it out with friends soon and experience what a group conversation would be like!”

We will let you know when you can! Thank you Saki!

Read more

Get an exclusive look inside the Cubemint app in our first product notes blog post ⬇️

--

--

Charlotte Blondeel
Audio Metaverse

Marketer | Content Creator | Belgian in Japan. I sing, arrange flowers and do yoga sometimes. I share content about life in Japan. Follow me @cblondeel