Aura Public Beta at the Mall

Alexander Thiel
Aura Blog
Published in
2 min readNov 24, 2018

This article explains how you can easily help further free speech.

Can Aura boost free speech?

To varying extents, censorship and internet surveillance happen everywhere.

Over the last year, I developed Aura to allow citizens to express themselves without being shut down by authorities (find out everything at getAura.io).

With Aura you share ideas anonymously with nearby people. It works person-to-person: no SIM card, no internet, no blocking, no traces with your phone operator.

The application is now usable but I need your help to test if it works!

Why is Aura safe?

  • Everything’s open source, no backdoors, no data leaks, nothing. Take a look at GitHub!
  • Still no trust? Run Aura in flight mode or even use a old phone without SIM card. Because Aura never sends any data over the internet it will still work!
  • Aura has no access to your personal data

How can I help?

  • Do you have friends? Do you like going to the mall?
  • I’m looking for a group of 10–20 people to test Aura in a shopping mall
  • If you like Aura, I’ll put more time and money into spreading the word and making it better (including a beautiful design)
  • The details are described in the medium article Reclaim your Mall.
  • Interested? Send me an email at info@getAura.io!

Who are you?

My name’s Alexander Thiel, I was co-founder and tech manager at various startups, today I’m the CTO of Wunder Mobility in Hamburg.

I believe in humanism, democracy and freedom of expression, I’m a member of Amnesty.
Check out alexthiel.de and linkedin.com/in/reasn!

Now, let’s change the world!

Dalian large shopping mall (https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Datei:Dalian_large_Shopping_Mall_2005.jpg)

--

--

Alexander Thiel
Aura Blog

Motivating people with a strong vision for processes/tech · Scaling Tech at Wunder Mobility · Looking for ways to stop climate change. ️Talks: alexthiel.de